Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

22RE help needed

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2011, 08:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22RE help needed

I am new to this as you can probably tell because I'm probably posting in the wrong spot... Here is my problem... I am the service manager of All Tune and Lube in Tyler, TX. Prior to taking on this job the shop had been working on a 91 Toyota truck 4wd with 22re. They put a new/rebuilt engine in and after getting all of the bells and whistles hooked up we can not get it to idle for nothing. We've checked everything under the sun and still nothing. One thing we did notice doing all of our tests is that it is only pulling 8-10 inhg at idle with a fluctuating needle. We've smoke tested the engine, done a leak down test, ran a compression test, re-adjusted the valves etc. etc... still to no avail. One thing I noticed is that their appears to be some valve overlap between the 3rd and 4th cylinder cam lobes... Is this normal? Any mor feedback or help would be greatly appreciated. I've been going back and fourth with chef but I think he might be just as stumped as me.

If you have any input you can call me at the shop at 903-595-2851, my name is mike
Old 12-03-2011, 08:55 AM

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
Hey Mike, .... *EDIT*(NOT SURE wth I was thinking when I typed this thread is old, lol... I could have sworn you typed it on MY troubleshooting thread, lol... Forgive, anyway;>>>) I would have probably been able to dive more into it with you thus far.... but with the Stepdad having open heart surgery, etc., etc., ...I've just not been on much at all. When I am, it's for a minute or so.