Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

1992 v6 wont start.

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2009, 05:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1992 v6 wont start.

Hi, I hope someone can help me, i am not too good at working on vehicles anymore but i know basics, well i will explain what has happened i bought this truck it ran fine, i didnt have a license at the time so it sat for awhile..always started up and ran when i would run it for a bit so it stayed active...finally i got my license and was running it..it started to act like it ran out of fuel so i checked it found a leak in the tank, fixed the leak and put fuel back in, and it doesnt want to start again, i thought its possibly the fuel filter got clogged with junk but it is getting fuel up the line, maybe its not enough? now it has been sitting awhile i have to go and recharge the battery tomorrow and hopefully change the fuel filter..but if that doesnt work i am at a lose..does anybody have any ideas?
Old 07-12-2009, 05:38 PM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Jump the correct terminals (search to find them, I forget) to turn the pump on. Then you can see if its working or not.
Old 07-12-2009, 05:48 PM

I am not sure what you mean? jump the battery? i wish i could i dont have the tools in fact i only have simple tools some wrenches and sockets for basic use, but i need to use them to do what i can..i have to take the battery in to have it juiced up, but i have tried before thats what ran the battery down trying to start it, it turns over and just doesnt act like it wants to start at all.
If you mean the fuel pump i will have to try that tomorrow when i ge tthe fuel filter bsuted loose and ill keep it updated here, thanks for the tip

Last edited by astroknot; 07-12-2009 at 05:57 PM.
Old 07-13-2009, 07:18 AM

ah i cant work on it this month i need to buy some things i cant get yet, i will charge the battery and get it ready,
Old 07-13-2009, 07:23 AM
Contributing Member