86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Removing Engine and need some help

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2016, 02:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Removing Engine and need some help

New to forums I have an 86 4Runner 22RE. No idea how old this motor is but my headgasket is gone. Have tons of crap in the coolant and oil pan is milky. There was little to no smoke coming out of the exhaust but can only assume this or timing chain cover among other things. I found a 22RE motor still hooked up to the truck so I can start it to see how it runs for $400 so I decided to swap motors first and then dig into the current one I have to see if its salvageable.
I'm a full-time college student and NEED THIS done this weekend so I can go to my hospital clinical *nursing student*

So I searched the forums and online found a few things and sure I'll have questions throughout the day.

1) I have most of the wiring unhooked from the engine bay, leaving the harness connected to the motor and unplugged from ECU and pulled it through the firewall.
2) Radiator drained and removed, it is missing a lot of its fins but the engine I'm getting comes with EVERYTHING i need so no worries
3) Going to drain oil next
4) will support tranny and unhook tranny bolts (believe I counted around 14).
5) Going to rent and engine hoist tomorrow so I can loosen motor mounts and hopefully pull?
6) Drop in goes in reverse LOL