Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Regeared with 5.29 and a tru trac

Old 09-02-2008, 06:37 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Regeared with 5.29 and a tru trac

This past weekend I regeared my truck with a tru trac int he front and 5.29 gears. I have a lunchbox locker in the rear that has been in there for four years or so. I did the gears myself and I think I got it right but I am no expert and it is the first time I have done gears. So here is the issue. I have a vibration that occurs, upon decel mostly but seems like it is under power also. It is hard for me to pinpoint exactly where it is coming from because my turbo is rather loud and drowns out the vibration enough so that I cant pinpoint exactly what it sounds like. It does not appears to go away under power and does not seem to go away wen I pull the truck out of gear and coast. Especially when pulling it out of fifth gear and leaving it in neutral and coasting. It almost sounds like it is int he tranny. This is when in four wheel drive. If I take it out of four wheel drive but leave the hubs locked it is much better. I am stumped. It is possible that I botched up the regear. I got a pretty good pattern on the front. I may have committed an major no no but I reused the front crush sleeve. I figured that as little as it is in four wheel drive and the lower speeds that it may not matter. In the back I got a nice pattern. The catch is when I put int he new crush sleeve and torqued it down and got the play out (wow that was hard) I then rechecked the pattern and could not get what I had when I did it without the crush sleeve. I dont think it is the back because it when in two wheel drive it isn't bad. Any thoughts guys. Oh and had rebuild kits with all new bearings etc, Except I had to reuse the front carrier bearings because they are dealer only. still in good shape too. Long winded sorry.
Old 09-02-2008, 06:45 PM
tc
Contributing Member