86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Occasional scary grinding noise - 1988 4wd P/U

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2020, 01:42 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Question Occasional scary grinding noise - 1988 4wd P/U

My 1988 Toyota 4wd pickup (22RE, 180K miles) has a very intermittent noise that is driving me crazy.

I posted a Youtube of the noise (please let me know if you have trouble listening) at

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L655...ature=youtu.be

The noise happens 10 seconds into the video. The noise happens very occasionally, but at its worst, it scares me like "don't drive, pull over and call a tow". It has two parts: a mild low grumbling/grating/grinding noise, that sometimes turns into a loud grinding noise. The louder sound reminds me of rotating splines not engaging, or stripped gear sounds, but I'm no expert. I think it's coming from underneath the drivers side front, can't be sure.

I can't bring the noise out in a test drive unless I drive for 50 miles or more, often longer. Its just not that frequent. So far, 100 miles will always do it.

It has only happened in 2wd high with the manual hubs unlocked. Not clear if it would happen in 4wd and/or with locked hubs - I haven't yet been able to put on enough 4wd miles to be sure. It almost always stops when I pull over, even after I just coast to a stop without using the brake pedal. Then, usually, not always, it's gone when I start going again.

The milder noise occasionally seems briefly triggered by a bump, or going over a cattle guard. But driving on rough roads won't cause it to happen. It can happen on highway, freeway, paved or dirt roads. I'm pretty sure it's a rotational noise, but it can happen at any speed 5-80 mph, continues when speeding up or slowing down or shifting between any gears.

Things I've checked: