MAF Bypass? - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

MAF Bypass?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-04-2007, 12:29 AM   #1
Contributing Member
Thread Starter
 
AxleIke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 5,464
MAF Bypass?

Lots of info on how to fix these or problems with them...

For those who know about such things..

I'm looking to ditch the stock airfilter location in favor of a different area, but am running into significant issues with the MAF as it is a huge, blocky, chunk of equipment.

How much of this thing can i get rid of before i start screwing up my air mixture and throwing codes? I seriously doubt i can bypass it without messing with my economy and performance, but if someone knows a way, i'd be open to that as well.
AxleIke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 12:32 AM   #2
Contributing Member
 
Elton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Siletz,Oregon
Posts: 12,261
its a afm not a maf
Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 07:15 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 1,825
Cant bypass it on a 22r-series. It's critical to airflow calculations.
Want it gone? Gotta do aftermarket EFI: SDS, FAST, Megasquirt.
dcg9381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 07:40 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Sonofmayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Springs, Colorado
Posts: 1,671
Mass Air Flow sensor=maf why dont you just extend your wires, get rid of the air box and put on a cone filter? i have a custom piping setup to move it next to the intake manifold. from what i see it wouldnt be hard at all just a matter of cutting and connecting the right wires.
Sonofmayhem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 08:37 AM   #5
Contributing Member
Thread Starter
 
AxleIke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 5,464
I have a cone filter already. extending the wires is not a problem. I will just have to find a different way to route the piping than i wanted so that the MAF will fit. Thanks.
AxleIke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 08:40 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 1,825
As seen above, there is no MAF on the 22re.

I think there is some intake temp value for changing where you get air on the 22re.. In terms of flow, it's still got to go through the AFM.. Big pipes, small AFM hole = no difference.
dcg9381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 08:46 AM   #7
Contributing Member
Thread Starter
 
AxleIke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 5,464
It is listed as a MAF in my haynes manual, in the manual at the Toyota dealer where i get my parts, and most folks here refer to it as that.
AxleIke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:20 AM   #8
Contributing Member
 
mt_goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma State
Posts: 10,664
Actually the FSM calls it a VAFM, volume air flow meter, but we usually call it AFM for short. It measures the air flow with a spring loaded flap, estimating the flow by volume.

After about 1996 they went to the MAF, Mass air flow meter. The MAF measures the air flow by a mass. As the air flows across the hot wire it cools down, the computer estimates the flow by how cool the wire gets.

I just saw this week a product that will replace the VAFM or the MAF completely:
/f116/so-you-want-get-more-3-0-huh-105832/

Last edited by mt_goat; 02-04-2007 at 10:23 AM.
mt_goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:30 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 1,825
I'm not going to say that using that device isn't possible. I will say that every single person I know about that tried to use a piggy back with the stock AFM gave up... The signals out of the toyota AFM are very non-standard. Jeff Mosk has write up on messing with it and some decent data.

If you want to run a speed density system, run megasquirt. Build it yourself for $200 or buy it configured for the toyota for $350. My setup:
http://lakebox.dnsalias.com/photos/1...oenginein3.jpg

No AFM, it's speed density.

That's cheaper than the ECU option that is being disscussed as an option: http://www.mapecu.com/map1.html which is $399...

Also, we're talking about bucks just to get rid of the factory AFM.. On a stock or close to stock (cammed, mild porting) 22RE, it's expensive for a mild theoretical gain....
dcg9381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:49 AM   #10
Contributing Member
Thread Starter
 
AxleIke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 5,464
yeah, i've seen those, but its not really what i want. I just wanted to know if there was a way to get rid of the bulky unit so that i could route the air intake anywhere i wanted. Doesn't look to be possible without bucks, and i'm not interested in any performance units. add 10 hp to my 92 hp engine, and i've still only got 102. That and i don't believe it will really make any noticeable difference. Thanks though, thats what i needed to know.
AxleIke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 12:26 PM   #11
Contributing Member
 
mt_goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma State
Posts: 10,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcg9381 View Post
I'm not going to say that using that device isn't possible. I will say that every single person I know about that tried to use a piggy back with the stock AFM gave up... The signals out of the toyota AFM are very non-standard. Jeff Mosk has write up on messing with it and some decent data.

If you want to run a speed density system, run megasquirt. Build it yourself for $200 or buy it configured for the toyota for $350. My setup:
http://lakebox.dnsalias.com/photos/1...oenginein3.jpg

No AFM, it's speed density.

That's cheaper than the ECU option that is being disscussed as an option: http://www.mapecu.com/map1.html which is $399...

Also, we're talking about bucks just to get rid of the factory AFM.. On a stock or close to stock (cammed, mild porting) 22RE, it's expensive for a mild theoretical gain....
You're probably right. I think it's one of those good news/bad news things. The good news is you can adjust the a/f ratio for max performace and get rid of that AFM restriction. The bad news is you have to make a complete fuel map for the complete rpm and pressure range from scratch, not an easy task at all for an inexperienced tuner.

Last edited by mt_goat; 02-04-2007 at 12:29 PM.
mt_goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 02:58 PM   #12
Contributing Member
Thread Starter
 
AxleIke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 5,464
thanks guys. I'm not interested in screwing with all that. I'll make the stock junk work. I appreciate the info though, those sites and threads were quite informative.
AxleIke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 08:07 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Toysrme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 273
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by mt_goat View Post
You're probably right. I think it's one of those good news/bad news things. The good news is you can adjust the a/f ratio for max performace and get rid of that AFM restriction. The bad news is you have to make a complete fuel map for the complete rpm and pressure range from scratch, not an easy task at all for an inexperienced tuner.

Yes god forbid the AFM is restrictive...

/f116/why-yall-dont-need-ditch-your-afm-aka-why-toyota-right-106225/
Toysrme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 05:03 AM   #14
Contributing Member
 
mt_goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma State
Posts: 10,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toysrme View Post
Interesting, so where do you think the restrictions are? Valves?

Last edited by mt_goat; 02-06-2007 at 04:33 PM.
mt_goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 05:59 AM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 1,825
That post was quoting a TURBO motor, not an NA motor, so it's really not a valid comparison, as the turbo is stuffing air into that motor vs pulling via vacuum.

The question is how much air can you flow past a given surface area at vacuum..
We're 146 CI, flowing (theory) about 250 cfm at 6000 RPM.
Figure out how large a TB is required to flow ~250cfm... Honestly, since the 22R doesn't produce power at 6k, we'll come in under that number.
dcg9381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 03:33 PM   #16
Registered User
 
Toysrme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 273
Cool

That's a perfectly valid post.That post was concerning the larger Denso vane flap AFM loosing 3whp & less than a ft-lb of torque after having 373 horsepower worth of air SUCKED THROUGH THE AFM.......
What? You think your tiny engine pulling 1/3 the amount of air through your smaller AFM is going to respond any differently?
Build a manometer for & check it yourself if you want... Just recognize that it takes 27.68 inches of water to equal just 1 psi.



Your math is incorrect for what you need to flow. You've stopped short & not finished your math.
A 22r-e would only injest 160CFM of air @ 5000rpm, and I'd have to see a dyno of a 22r-e that ran 6000rpm to tell you that number. But 6000rpm would fall under 140CFM.

Last edited by Toysrme; 02-06-2007 at 03:38 PM.
Toysrme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 03:39 PM   #17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 1,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toysrme View Post
That's a perfectly valid post.That post was concerning the larger Denso vane flap AFM loosing 3whp & less than a ft-lb of torque after having 373 horsepower worth of air SUCKED THROUGH THE AFM.......
What? You think your tiny engine pulling 1/3 the amount of air through your smaller AFM is going to respond any differently?

BTW, we can't view the post.. Requires registration. Does the post say anything about the size of the denso AFM on that motor?
The question is: Where is the restriction in the 22re? My guess is there isn't one until you start porting the head.. Can we agree on that?


pulling 1/3 the amount

The 22RE is pulling.. One could say that a turbo motor is pushing or you could say that it pulls a lot harder based on the pressure differential. The turbo motor has a much more sigificant pressure differential. For a fixed hole size, the amount of air that goes through it is going to have something to do with the pressure or vacuum behind. More pressure = more air flow through the same hole.

I don't think my math is wrong but it was scaled from some numbers from larger displacement motors. Consider it to be a theoretical maxium (100 VE).. Definitely on the high side, I don't disagree. Most webers are rated around 200-260 cfm, if I recall correctly. I do believe the stock 22RE head generally flows like crap, maybe in the 140? Bench flow numbers on my head are over 200 cfm @ 425.

So again, what's the size of the AFM and at what flow point does it start restricting airflow?

Last edited by dcg9381; 02-06-2007 at 03:50 PM.
dcg9381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 08:17 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Targetnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 554
I think the key here is to note that nothings sucks.

Pressure pushes.

With the pressure drop of a VAFM on a N/A engine you can never reach 100%VE.

A turbocharger can push air into the engine to create boost til the wastegate opens with very little change in regards to atmosphere

A very good example of this is how much atmospheric pressure (altitude) affects power output on a N/A engine as compared to a Turbocharged engine
Targetnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:40 PM   #19
Registered User
 
toyota_mdt_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WA
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by AxleIke View Post
It is listed as a MAF in my haynes manual, in the manual at the Toyota dealer where i get my parts, and most folks here refer to it as that.
Just those "not in the know", we have basically 3 systems, a AFM, MAF and a MAP systems. Thet are all different. (air flow meter, mass air flow and manifold absolute pressure)
toyota_mdt_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:35 AM   #20
Registered User
 
Asuarez737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 125
how bout bypassing the afm on a 3vze?
Asuarez737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to buy the Idle Air Valve Coolant Hoses kcaudill 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 19 10-10-2015 03:39 PM
2 ecu's in one swap... Rerun 3.4 Swaps 2 10-01-2015 01:24 PM
22re high idle after shifting into neutral creecher10 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 1 09-30-2015 04:27 PM
Maf interchangeable??? 93RedKrawler 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2 09-29-2015 03:50 PM
How necessary is the bvsv? mtrdrms 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 09-26-2015 08:12 AM


Tags
22re, 28, 92, air, bypass, bypassing, flow, fuel, ka24de, maf, mafs, map, mass, meter, pump, sensor, toyota, truck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:04 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.