86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Acceptable oil leak?

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2011, 10:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Acceptable oil leak?

This is probably more of a matter of opinion but I figured I would get some input.

I had a slight leak, nothing major but just an annoyance. So, I just pulled my oil pump and replaced the seal in the pump and the o-ring that mates the pump to the t-chain cover. I'm still leaking a little out of the oil pump main seal that the under-drive pulley goes in to. It's nothing serious, it started out at about one drop every 15 seconds. After the engine warmed up and I let it idle with a little bit of revving here and there it slowed to about one drop every 30 seconds. I'm new to 22re's so I'm not sure if this is normal for this particular seal to leak a little. I know this isn't going to hurt anything but it is still irritating me!

Being a helicopter mechanic we kind of have an unwritten rule that if something is leaking then you know it has fluids... when it stops leaking then you have something to worry about! I'm not too fond of this rule on my vehicles, I'm too anal with my maintenance.

I just got my oil pan to seal completely after re-doing it twice! I finally broke down and bought some FIPG from the dealership. I had to put my oil pan on a metal block and use a fat punch to hammer the torqued down bolt holes so they're flat. After I made sure the pan was flat and used a proper amount of FIPG it sealed completely and doesn't leak at all. But this dang oil pump is an annoyance!!!

So here's my question to everyone:
What would you guys consider an acceptable oil leak (if there is such a thing)?
Old 10-23-2011, 11:42 AM

my front axle seal leaks and we have replaced it like twice and my oil pan leaks a little when it gets warm and i find it acceptable till my front diff locks up and implodes
Old 10-23-2011, 08:03 PM