86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

3FVE Swap (Which New Parts?)

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2008, 01:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3FVE Swap (Which New Parts?)

Hi, last month I threw a rod in my 1990 4Runner. I have bought a 3FZE rebuilt long block and am planning to do a swap this weekend. I have never done this before and have a question.
I will have the old engine to strip parts off of, but I am wondering if anyone here can help me compile a list of what parts I should just go ahead and buy new. I figured the basics like gaskets, belts, and a thermostat. But other than that I am pretty much in the dark. Thanks for any help
Old 07-15-2008, 01:35 PM

Wait, 3vze?

The same engine or is this a SWAP?
Old 07-15-2008, 01:41 PM

Originally Posted by 904_runner
Wait, 3vze?

The same engine or is this a SWAP?
X2
Old 07-15-2008, 01:43 PM

I thought we had a good illiteracy rate in this country?
Old 07-15-2008, 06:13 PM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
F is pretty close to the V key. Me thinks its a typo.

Replace all the hoses (if they need it), coolant, belts, timing belt and tensioner, water pump, thermostat, knock sensor wire (if your new engine did not come with one)..

Last edited by Jay351; 07-15-2008 at 06:14 PM.
Old 07-15-2008, 08:26 PM

My bad. I meant 3VZE. I wrote the post at work and was trying to get it up before anyone noticed what I was doing. Yes, I threw a rod in my 1990 4Runner which has a 3VZE engine. I bought a rebuilt long block from MotorCrate Engine Sales. It should arrive tomorrow. As far as I can tell it is just a long block. Here is a link to the company's ebay website with a picture and description of the engine. Toyota 3VZE

Jay351, Thanks for the help.

So far my Napa list has hoses, coolant, belts, timing belt and tensioner, water pump, thermostat, and knock sensor wire. Can anyone think of anything else I will need?

Thanks again.