84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

Help me save my Rusty truck!

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2007, 08:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help me save my Rusty truck!

Hello all,
I'm new to yotatech and to toyotas, and this is a great resource. Maybe someone can help me out.

I bought an 84 extra cab lwb at the beginning of last summer for $400. I got my money's worth many times over because I ran a small business out of it. But since I bought this old truck from a guy in Massachusetts, the truck was rusty and now the frame is rusted through and is very soon to crack in half.

The truck runs great with 138k, and what i'm wondering is how difficult transferring the truck body, motor and transmission, driveline onto another frame might be. There is an 86 at a nearby junkyard and the owner will sell the stripped frame alone for $300, nothing but the frame. I would like to do this because I like my truck, but since his truck is complete, I'm wondering if I should buy the whole truck and simply transfer my motor. His complete truck minus engine and transmission will be more expensive, probably $800.

If anyone knows how difficult it is to swap frames and could let me know, I'd greatly appreciate it. Another concern I have is that all the periphery, gas & brake lines, etc. might be a hassle to transfer, because the junkyard guy says that it will only take him an hour to drop the frame out of this complete truck, so I'm not sure if he's going to care not to destroy all these components on the other truck. Also, lots of parts on my truck are rusty, I'm wondering what kinds of other problems I might encounter.

All help appreciated.

-riyad
Old 01-03-2007, 08:49 AM
Contributing Member