84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

'84 22-R fuel starvation/Carb issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2006, 06:25 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'84 22-R fuel starvation/Carb issues

I've made a valiant search of not only this site but the internet in general. I'm extremely new to the older trucks and carbs. So if this has been covered or if someone knows of a good 84-85 site I'm listening!

Ok, I just purchased a '84 regular cab with a flat bed. It's a 5spd 4x4, it has 122,xxx miles on the clock. So far I've replaced the alternator, changed all the fluids (you eat up alot of gear oil with 4 boxes to service). I need to change the fuel filter but I've already done the air and oil.

The Truck drives nicely except for the following problem:
It pulls hard in 1st gear all the way to 5k. When I shift to 2nd and 3rd and other remaining gears the truck hiccups horribly when the tach hits 3k. It feels like it's starved for fuel. If I back off the throttle and gently pump the gas it'll fire back up but if I leave it floored it will die.

What do you guys think, I filled up with 91 and guess what...the gauge works!

I'm not scared to get dirty but like I said I'm very new to these trucks.
Thanks.
Old 12-03-2006, 07:38 PM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Change the fuel filter and consider rebuilding the carb, also check all the vacuum lines to make sure that there routed corectly.
Old 12-04-2006, 07:04 AM
Contributing Member

I agree with changing the fuel filter, in fact there was a new in box Toyota filter behind the driver seat! Maybe this has been a problem in the past. I will change the filter tonight and see what happens. The vacuum lines is a possibility as well.

What about adjustments on the Carb? Where do I find what? Idle, Hi, Low etc... what are the stock settings? I'm at 4200 ft.

Could timing be an issue? If it were severly retarded would that cause this issue?
Old 12-04-2006, 07:46 AM