Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment Discussions here pertain to vehicle stereo systems and home entertainment systems

1995 4runner audio

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2013, 09:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1995 4runner audio

Hey everyone! Ive just got my new rig and im looking to put all new speakers into it, as well as dual 12" subs, could anybody possibly be able to tell me where all of the speakers are located? Thanks!
Ps. Sorry I'm a bit of a newbie
Old 02-12-2013, 05:02 PM

front speakers are silly 4.25" that are in the far left and far right of the lower dash, pointing down...

dont utilize that space. actually, dont even bother with them. just leave them alone.

instead, if you are going custom, go with speaker pods on the kick panels on either side so the speakers, if you can draw a line going from them, would intersect where the dome light is...

another option is door mounts. you can make cheap wooden baffles to mount as low and as forward on the door panels as possible. you would need to trim some metal on the doors also. mount as big as you could (and afford) woofers there. then mount the tweeters also on the doors, but as close as possible to the woofer.

now, i forget the year in the 2nd gens when toyota also added another set of speaker on the rear cargo area where the light switch is back there.

before, the rear speakers were mounted on the big rear quarter panels behind the rear seats. they were also in a custom enclosure. i forget the size but it's a weird size.

again, forget any speakers behind the FRONT SEATS. why?

to me, in car audio world, STEREO is still king.

i just came back from CES in vegas last month. saw and sat through a few cars. while the sources have changed over the decades (from cassette, to Cd to DVD... and now iPods, and other solid state MP3 players), the setups has been stereo.

if you search for my username here (and other forums) i give the following advice: