Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

tubular bumper fabrication

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2004, 03:42 PM
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally posted by Napoleon047
take whatever degree angle you want, and cut both peices at half of that angle

for example:
45+45= 90 degrees
30+30=60 degrees, etc

it is possible to cut only one peice of tubing to the ange that you want, but remember, the mating surfaces will not match up perfectly
I think he was refering to zedex's method, not miter cuts.

I think a chop saw works fine, I've never had a problem (of course it's not like I build things for a living). You can get a better cut from a horizontal band saw.
Old 01-05-2004, 03:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yeah, I was thinking they would be better, but what about angled cuts with them. How does that work?

Chris
Old 01-05-2004, 04:32 PM

If your using a chop saw. Notching will work best in my experience.. You can cut perfect 90 degree cuts with a chop saw. The problem with cutting miters is , The blade flexes, your cut starts off course, and continues off course. Getting worse as you cut. Notching is really easy. The saw has an easy time cutting straight. You save in blade wear. fitting is easier. welding is easier because your welding a corner which is twice the thickness as the flat tube. You just have to try it out and see whats best for you. Band saw chop saws work really nice for any angle but not many guys have one sitting around. If you can get your hands on one definitely get it. Then do all miters. You just adjust the fence to 45s. 101 ways to skin a cat.
Old 01-11-2004, 07:32 AM