Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Oil leak location? Pics included

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2016, 11:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oil leak location? Pics included

I failed inspections, code0304
After reading forums i found that it could be misfiring for a number off reasons, plugs, coil packs, fuel injector, etc. Upon beginning to change plugs i discovered this

Where screw driver is pointing, seems to be origin of leak, but not sure.

I am hoping that someone might have seen this or have a good idea.

Thanks
Old 01-28-2016, 11:29 AM

looks like you need to replace valve cover gaskets? my best guess from the picture.
Old 01-28-2016, 11:30 AM

Received 603 Likes on 441 Posts
Valve cover leak.

Looks pretty minor.

I'd leave it alone unless it gets a lot worse.
Old 01-28-2016, 11:33 AM

Wow thanks for the quick response . I'm pretty new to fixing car issues myself. Is that something that i should have a mechanic do? I'm strapped, like most, so im trying to save anyway i can, though somethings might be out of my current technical abilities (for now )

Also any chance that the misfire on cylinder is related or cause in anyway?

Last edited by litletre; 01-28-2016 at 11:34 AM.
Old 01-28-2016, 11:55 AM

Received 603 Likes on 441 Posts
Your misfire is not likely related to the pictured small oil seep.

That small leak would not leak out a pint of motor oil in a years time.

There are likely many other areas of maintainance that are more worthy of your time and money.
Old 01-28-2016, 11:57 AM

Originally Posted by millball
Your misfire is not likely related to the pictured small oil seep.

That small leak would not leak out a pint of motor oil in a years time.

There are likely many other areas of maintainance that are more worthy of your time and money.
Thank you, exactly the kind of answer i was looking for.
Old 01-28-2016, 12:12 PM

Received 125 Likes on 101 Posts