Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Injector Cleaning: what method?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2006, 09:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Injector Cleaning: what method?

I run a can of BG 44K through my tank at each oil change (5,000 mi). It makes my 3.4 engine run smooth while it has the 44K in the fuel. However I can't help but think that one pint of cleaner diluted in 14 gallons of gas isn't accomplishing a true cleaning of the fuel injectors.

Q: Has anyone performed an injector cleaning where the cleaner is hooked up directly to the fuel rail? This seems like it would be much more effective.
Old 07-11-2006, 09:12 AM
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I have not done it on my 4runner but as a mechanic I have certainly done that in the past and it does do a great job but how much benefit you get depends on how much carbon/varnish buildup there is in the first place. It certainly wouldn't hurt to try.
Old 07-11-2006, 09:12 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
One word for ya: SEAFOAM!!

Old 07-11-2006, 10:06 AM

Location: Far western Kentucky (transplanted from central PA)
Personally, if you've been religiously using a good injector or fuel system cleaner at 5-10k mile intervals, you may not need to do the more exhorbitant and expensive cleaning since you've prevented the kind of build-up that would require more direct cleaning.

I've used tank-fed cleaners for years at about 10k intervals and, with over 600,000 miles on numerous fuel injected vehicles, never had to perform other methods of injector cleaning.

Last edited by Rick F.; 07-11-2006 at 10:32 AM.
Old 07-11-2006, 10:10 AM
Contributing Member

I generally run a can of BG's 44K through my system once a year (10k miles or so) but I think a professional system once over might be good if you're buying a truck with some miles on it.
Old 07-11-2006, 11:57 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
SeaFoam: