95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

1st gen pickups?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2003, 05:57 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
1st gen pickups?

alright, enough about 4runners for now

how many of you currently have a 1st gen toyota pickup? as in a '79-83 truck

i don't have any pics right now, but mine's a '79 sport(no sr5 in 4x4 until 1981 since there were no 5 speed 4x4s) in bright yellow. it's powered by it's original 20R engine with over 300k on the odometer, which will be swapped for a built up 22R hybrid this winter. i paid $650 for it after looking for over 4 months for any toy 4x4 or 4runner, and it paid off, since the cheapest i saw any 4x4 go for around here was over 1800$.

this truck is gonna be a wheelin machine once i'm done with it, i'm planning on giving it an OME suspension lift and running some 33" swampers with (possibly) 4.88s and front and rear ARB lockers. probably not for a while since i'm a student and not exactly well off, but i'm great at saving money, so probably sometime in the next 6 months.

i'm already in love with this truck, and i plan on keeping it until somebody pries the keys out of my cold dead fingertips
Old 08-14-2003, 06:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
sweeet, i got an 80 toyota just like yers and i like it except for the fact it has no a/c.

i just got done painting it, spray-in bedliner, and custom rear bumper.....it looks good!

have you been looking or know anybody who makes tube doors for this year yota, i cant find any.....i will probably be taking the doors off this weekend and driving it like that, just got to make sure i keep my seatbelt on
Old 08-14-2003, 10:33 PM

wow, looks like just 2 of us

i might take a stab at making some tube doors this fall, since i'll be taking a refresher course on welding and i'll have access to a good sized shop, but my first priority is to make a nice chunky bull bar with a winch mount for the front