Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

1998 5VZ-fe tick/knock advise needed

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2011, 08:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1998 5VZ-fe tick/knock advise needed*UPDATED W/video*

Howdy Folks.
I need some help on finding a loud tapping/light knocking sound coming from my newly purchased 1998 4Runner for my soon to be, first time driver, son. A little back ground on me, I am a former automotive tech with lots of skill's (or so I thought), lots of tools and a shop at my house.
I bought this REALLY clean 1998 4Runner with 178,000 miles cheap from a used car lot becuse of this engine noise. The car runs great with good power, no mis fires and it did NOT overheat on the 30 mile drive home. I have no service history on the vehicle other than a sticker under the hood indicating that the timing belt was changed about 6 months and 5,000 miles ago and a super clean motor on the inside, more on that later.
The noise doesn't start until the engine has been running for a few minutes. The noise is a very loud ticking, nearly on the verg of being a knocking sound. It sounds like its coming from towards the rear of the engine about in the middle or a little towars the drivers side. It sounds like its coming from above the rods and below the valve train. I Know, its weird. The noise completely goes away at 1,000 rpms if I put it in gear and load the engine. In neutral if I raise the rpm's the noise is still there, but a lot less.
In the last two days of owning this thing, this is what I've done thus far, in this order.
1. I pulled the oil pan, screen and windage tray. All 6 rod bearings were tight in every direction. I pulled one rod cap and both the bearing and journal looked great. The crank thrust looked good. No obvious signs of problems. There were only 6 flakes of metal in the bottom of the pan and no sluge or signs of abuse or neglect.