86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

BryceR's 1988 Pickup Build-Up Thread

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2011, 05:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BryceR's 1988 Pickup Build-Up Thread

Hello! New guy, to the forum here. I'm a Toyota aftermarket tech at a Toyota dealership. In the dealership world if a truck is not fresh off the truck new it is considered old so when I picked up this truck from a friend for $200 bucks I knew I had some work ahead of me.

Goals are just to build a winter beast. I use the truck for awful Fargo winters, and help at the race track during the summer for my car.

Behold a $200 dollar funky hippie stinky broken hood ride! 1988 Toyota truck 4x4 5speed V6

It blew a tire out on the way home and then I got locked out of it (Locks didn't work, I did not know) and had to pick the lock in a random persons yard. It was a wonderful first day with this truck..

It needed parts so I replaced; Battery, alternator, starter, thermostat, heater core, rad cap, tires, and a few other things that I can't remember. Money pit already.

Had to grind the hippie off this bitch

I suck at body work, get use to it haha

Its first winter that I owned it. After of my body work ha

Interior was ˟˟˟˟ed when I got it, so I had to make due until I decide to do it correct. Made some shift knobs though

Now a year later, I tossed a few more bucks into the pit shaped like a truck. Painted the whole truck with rust proof thick gloss black paint. Replaced the drive shaft, new wheels and 31" tires and used truck bed liner on the frame/wheel wells. Got a roll bar, now I need to finish the interior, door seals, rad, a few lights then mabye Ill be happy. (sorry for the blur I'll take better ones)

This thing is always going to be on the back burner, and I will not be tossing a ton of money at it. I have a 92 civic si drag car, along with my crx and DD 06 si. (I'm a Honda fag, ex Honda tech)