86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

1989 Diesel Toyota Surf NZ

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2011, 08:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1989 Diesel Toyota Surf NZ

Newbie here. 1989 Diesel Surf (AKA 4Runner ). First change...Softopper ( with freight and import taxes..that hurt but i love it )

Last edited by DieselSurf; 03-12-2012 at 01:20 AM.
Old 11-22-2011, 08:51 PM

Received 74 Likes on 44 Posts
THAT. IS. AWESOME. Looks great. Love my softopper as well. Did it come factory with a roll bar?

Also, any pics of the engine compartment?
Old 11-22-2011, 08:56 PM

Very cool truck man! Looks like its in great shape as well. Congratulations!
Old 11-22-2011, 11:11 PM

I rarely see any Surfs here with roll bars so i am under the impression that it was part of the US spec of the truck.

Last edited by DieselSurf; 03-12-2012 at 01:21 AM.
Old 11-23-2011, 06:26 AM
Contributing Member

Very nice clean looking Surf Diesel...
Love those tall mirrors were they stock on that model in NZ? Up here I've only seen those particular ones on FJ60s.

Is that a Nissan Patrol I see by the sea in the background of the second beach shot?

For a next mod... I would go stereo upgrade... with the soft top you'll be running around topless a lot more (I hope you're not a girl 'cause that could sound so wrong if you are. 'Specially with summer coming up down there ) and the factory unit is challenged even with the hard top on already.

Welcome to the family. btw we have several NZ members here so you should be able to find some folks to hook up and offroad with if you like.

Cheers Aviator

Last edited by aviator; 11-23-2011 at 06:28 AM.
Old 11-23-2011, 08:54 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I too like those mirrors, would like to know more about them.