84-85 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

84 Horunner 1984 4Runner Build-Up Thread

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2010, 12:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
84 Horunner 1984 4Runner Build-Up Thread

Well here goes nothing.....

I purchased my 4runner in March of 08....after researching and researching. I have finally come up with what i want to do with this rig. Daily drive/Mild wheel her. She is an 84 Model with the 22R.

I bought it with the lift and tires on it and a welded up rear end with stock 4.10's. Motor smokes and will be rebuilt by a local shop (i would but i'm not a motor mechanic) Thats later on down the road though.

First off, here is what i plan on doing to it. Dual Tcases with 4.7 TG kit in rear, ARB's front and rear, 5.29s, All pro tcase brake, Rear All pro Disc swap, Fj60 rotors, IFS calipers, front axle rebuild and cleanup plus armor, rear axle clean up plus armor.

I will put a few pics of her on here before i started the build, she has many dents, one of which i did, most of them i didnt do. Previous owner was rough with this rig.

I have a decent photo or two of what she looked like before i tore her down.

Will post more info later on when i can get to my camera and laptop with better photos.
Attached Thumbnails 84 Horunner 1984 4Runner Build-Up Thread-beforephoto.jpg  
Old 06-22-2010, 10:21 AM

Axle rebuild. I got the front axle out from under neath the truck. I'm using my uncles shop and at first it had no electric or air. Since i put my rig in there it forced him to hook up his 80 gallon air compressor and run some 220 electric to it. He was glad i started this project.

I got the axle truss and armor welded on this past weekend. I am very "green" at running a mig welder but i would rather do myself and learn along the way than pay someone else.