3.4 Swaps The 3.4 V6 Toyota engine

Yota army guys 1990 4runner 3.4l swap

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2010, 05:22 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Yota army guys 1990 4runner 3.4l swap

Hey everyone!

Im new, as you can tell, but I figured I would post my swap for everyone to see, learn from, etc etc..... I will be going down this weekend to pick up the motor, transmission, transfer case, ecu, O2 sensors, and wiring harness. P.s. I have very little mechanical experience........a couple classes in college.....and experience from tearing apart two VW bugs (big mistake).

First couple of questions......

I have a 1990 4x4 4runner (automatic)..... I will be gathering the parts from a 1995 T100 4x4....

1. I will be paying
-$475 for the motor
-$150 for ECU and wires
-$125 for trans (auto)
-$150 for transfer case
Are any of these prices too high???

2. Will the transmission (auto) and transfer case bolt right in?

3. If I bolt up the motor, transmission, and transfer case from the T100 will my 4x4 still work? (Do I need to grab the drive shaft too?)

4. Since I plan to use the T100 Transmission, transfer case, and ECU, will I still have the shifting issues?

5. Will I have to switch to manual hubs?

6. Will my 90 body wiring harness plug right into the T100 ECU?

7. Besides the engine bay wiring harness, what other wiring should I grab?

8. What else should I grab off the truck for swap purposes? (i.e. exhast etc...)

Thank you in advance for your help.

P.s.s Yes I have used the SEARCH for many of these questions but some I cant find, some have conflicting info, and I would also just like to get up-to-date info on what people have discovered. So, if you are one of those people that just like to say "Use the SEARCH" please do not post on this thread.

I will also be trying to post as many pics as possible so that people will have a pic-by-pic walk through (I learn a lot better from the books with pictures ;0)......)