Off Road Trip Planning, Expeditions, Trips, & Events Discussion pertaining to scheduling trail runs and outings

Anza Borrego Runs

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2004, 10:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anza Borrego Runs

I'm hoping to spend quite a bit of time out in Anza Borrego late this summer when it cools down a bit, and into the winter. I'm a photographer, so my primary interest out there is scenic locations to shoot, or interesting areas to explore. I have a stock 04 4Runner 4x4, and I'm looking for some rather easy, scenic runs out in Anza Borrego. I really don't want to push the limits with anything, but I'd like to get out a ways from the highways to seek out some great scenery. I have a pretty decent map of the area, but I'd really appreciate some recommendations.

Also, what is the current status of permit requirements in Anza Borrego? I've had a hard time tracking down the current info for that. Are they still requiring day permits for if you park to hike/camp? Is there a yearly permit available?

Thanks a bunch!
Old 07-22-2004, 10:54 AM
Contributing Member

Have you tried a search about this? There are quite a few threads and pictures. Sounds like a cool idea (well in the winter anyway).
Old 07-22-2004, 11:12 AM

I did a few searches, but didn't find anything conclusive. You guys are a heck of a lot more serious about off roading than I am, so that's why I figured I'd ask for some specific, easy runs that aren't too challenging, but bring me to some scenic spots. The last thing I want to do is end up on a run with a difficult spot that is beyond my abilities.

Last edited by BenSD; 07-22-2004 at 11:21 AM.
Old 07-22-2004, 02:01 PM

Well, I went out with a group from this board in March, and was lovingly and thoroughly abused.

Everyone was nice, but there was little time for scenics with all the mad cap antics and goings on.