Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

no power to coil

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2011, 08:14 PM
rza

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
no power to coil

ok I am working on a friends 22re in a 86 pickup... I am not getting 12volts to coil when ing. is on. there is 1.2 volts coming from the power wire going to the coil. this is the only prob. because when i hot wire the coil ( battery straight to the coil) it starts and runs. checked all fuses and replaced ign. still no power. what i need is a laymens explaination of where the wires go backwards from the coil to the powersource or a relay that could be the problem. thanks, I have been tring for 2 months to find this gremlin

ok no replys yet... can some one tell me if one of the 3 wire connector coming over the motor from the efi side and and pluging in the coil side of the motor is suppling power to the coil in any way?

Last edited by rza; 04-29-2011 at 12:22 AM.
Old 05-04-2011, 11:16 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Check the ignition fuse behind the driver side kick panel, somethimes the fuse socket can get corroded causing a power loss to the ignition. I had this problem on my 86 4Runner.
Old 09-03-2011, 09:38 PM

Originally Posted by rza
ok I am working on a friends 22re in a 86 pickup... I am not getting 12volts to coil when ing. is on. there is 1.2 volts coming from the power wire going to the coil. this is the only prob. because when i hot wire the coil ( battery straight to the coil) it starts and runs. checked all fuses and replaced ign. still no power. what i need is a laymens explaination of where the wires go backwards from the coil to the powersource or a relay that could be the problem. thanks, I have been tring for 2 months to find this gremlin

ok no replys yet... can some one tell me if one of the 3 wire connector coming over the motor from the efi side and and pluging in the coil side of the motor is suppling power to the coil in any way?