Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Newb with fuel filter question

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2007, 04:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newb with fuel filter question

Hello! I'm new to this forum and to toyotas. I just bought an 85 pick-up 4x4 for my son (he's 13) and he and I would like to fix it up for him so it's ready to go when he's of driving age. He and I are very excited. I'm a pretty decent mechanic and I'm teaching him the stuff I've learned and am learning.

As I mentioned, the truck is an 85 with the 22r carbureted engine. It is a 5-speed and 4x4. The truck had been sitting for 4 years due to owner losing interest after a crash (cosmetic damage only).

Once we got it home, We changed the fluids, performed a tune-up (plugs, wires, cap, rotor, air filter), and got it to running very well except for it occasionally dies. Sometimes it will crank right back, other times you must pour fuel into the carb to get it started.

I realize this is a fuel delivery problem, and I realize I must get rid of the stale gasoline. I also realize I must change the fuel filter. However, this is where my question comes in. I performed a search in a couple of forums here and read numerous threads. I have combed both the Chilton's manual and the Haynes manual's I've purchased and all answers point to the fuel filter in the engine compartment or at the fuel tank. There is no fuel filter on this truck unless it is ON TOP OF THE TANK. I traced the lines from the tank, under the truck up to where they seperate. One goes to the charcoal canister, the other goes under the intake, makes a turn and goes to the fuel pump. It all looks factory. Is it on top of the tank? IT IS NOT IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. I'm at a loss.