Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

issues with 22re idle, violent misfires, and backfiring.

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2014, 06:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
issues with 22re idle, violent misfires, and backfiring.

I know this has been covered and ive done alot of research on it. Just mainly looking to tell my story and findings and receive input on what my next step should be. This may be a long read.

This all started about 6 months ago. I was a GM mechanic and I took on the occasional side job. A friend of a friend brought me 92 pickup with the 22re and 5spd, A/c, PS, PB. It was leaking coolant into cylinder 4 and I was to replace the headgasket. I drove it and it ran great besides the occasional miss and high idle. Well as I tore into it I found it had a heap of problems. There was no timing chain guides left and the chain had nearly ate plum through the cover. The high idle turned out to be bad injector seals and 1 injector missing the tip. Also found number 4 exhaust valve burned badly. After I broke the news to the owner he decided to not spend the money required on a truck with 620k miles on it. So he signed the title over to me and this is where I am at.