Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Inspired to Dive Into 3VZE!

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2006, 06:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thats A Lot Of Work, Cant Wait To Here How It Turns Out, Buy The Way Has Anyone Ever Had Problems With Their Spark Plugs Working Thier Way Out, Unthreading?? Im A Mechanic And Have Torqued Them Properly A Couple Of Times W/ Different Torque Wrenches To Be Sure. The Threads Are Not Damaged Or Stretched. I Havent Heard Of This Problem W/ The Yotes But Maybe Im Missing Something. Its A 92 Truck 3.0.
Old 08-10-2006, 07:39 PM
Contributing Member

Received 34 Likes on 14 Posts
What plugs are you using? Plugs are supposed to have a crushing washer that isn't that great after the inital torquedown. I haven't had that problem with my Yota, but I had a Nissan p/u that they worked loose on all the time. I also currently have a 2000 Honda Civic EX I bought with 91k on the ODO. I couldn't figure out why it was so danged anemic (automatic tranny) until I found ALL the plugs were loose & THREE of them had backed out at least a full turn and a half! Runs MUCH better now!! hahahaha.
Old 08-11-2006, 08:55 AM
Contributing Member

Man, if I NEVER have to pull another starter, it'll be too soon! By far the most difficult part I've ever had to remove/install, even considering the water pump! If you ever have to pull one, TAKE OFF the exhaust heat shield (I didn't remove it to take the starter off but had to pull it to get it back in) and invest in a LONG (24") ratchet extension! My big darned hands didn' help any, either.

As a special note, the EGR pipe that runs into the plenum was COMPLETELY plugged with black crap. I wonder if it was even functional. I'm getting excited to see what difference this will all make with the engine performance!

Also, I'd definitely recommend sending your injectors out to:

http://www.witchhunter.com/index.htm