84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

Best way to fill wheel well rust holes?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2016, 04:15 PM

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Best way to fill wheel well rust holes?

I'm about to take the runner on a trip from Ohio to Jersey and back. Fixing a few things up before I go and wanted to hear what filler sets up the quickest and is best to work with. Here's the damage (wire brushed with naval jelly eating some of the rust):

That one goes straight through. I'd rather cut out all the bad and tack new 22 gauge steel in, but I'm still learning and don't wanna rush that job. Leaving in 2 days, so I'm planning on giving it a quick coat of KBS rust seal, sand it down and patch the few bad spots. Can I paint over filler the next day?

Here's a few other things I'm getting done:
Rear bumper's been twisted bad and dented up ever since I've had the truck. Today seemed like the right day to pull it and bash some the damage out. It'll get paint tomorrow.
Didn't take a before pic, but this is straight as an arrow compared to what it was.
I always thought the rearview and visors seemed springy. Turns out the support had detached. JB weld to the rescue.
Had a small leak into the cab so I pulled the chrome trim to investigate. I'm never putting it back on. It had trapped leaves, pine needles and dirt that was damp after being in the garage for days. This is after scraping the paint off.
I trimmed the glue to make a V shaped chanel. Brushed on naval jelly, wire brushed, then liquid phosphoric acid. Tomorrow I'll sand, paint with Rust Seal, then press a 1/4" rope of butyl rubber into the channel. Eventually I'll get a new windshield, but this is a cheap fix for now that should stop the leak till I get around to the replacement. I used butyl rubber a few years ago on the rear-most side windows and I'm convinced they'll never leak again.
Old 11-26-2016, 04:46 PM

Received 94 Likes on 66 Posts