Laptop screen on PC screen- what type of cord? - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


Computer Talk Discussions here pertain to mods, troubleshooting, and PC/console gaming

Laptop screen on PC screen- what type of cord?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2008, 10:56 AM   #1
Contributing Member
Thread Starter
 
EWAYota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Richland, Washington
Posts: 4,586
Laptop screen on PC screen- what type of cord?

We just got a larger flat panel monitor from a buddy for free, 19". Would like to connect the Laptop to the PC for a larger screen. What type of cord will I need? Is it just a matter of connecting it then pressing F4 (I think thats the correct Fn button, (square around a square/square)?

Now, splitting the screens is a different story, I'm sure I'd need to purchase some type of software to do that?

Thanks guys.
EWAYota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 01:45 AM   #2
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 2,057
well hopefully the LCD isnt digital.

You are going to need a VGA cable. (blue one)

You can do split screen right out of the box. google that one. Ive been using Vista and OS X too long to remeber how to do it off hand.

Heres a link to a VGA cable. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812108106
89macrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 08:15 AM   #3
Contributing Member
Thread Starter
 
EWAYota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Richland, Washington
Posts: 4,586
Yeah, I thought I had edited my post, but I ended up with the smaller 15 pin cable.

As far as the splitting screens, 2 minutes of playing around with Properties, I figured it out.

Simple pleasures but I find it cool as all heck using two screens.
EWAYota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 09:38 AM   #4
Registered User
 
mjwalfredo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 702
I've got the split screen setup at work. I was lucky enough to get a brand new laptop when I started. It is so nice to be able to write code for the server on one screen and write code for the host on the other. Or better yet, write code on one screen and have Yotatech up on the other

I really think I might have to get a dual monitor set up for the home PC. Having only one just gets frustrating when you have the dual screen experience all day.
mjwalfredo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 09:54 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Hayes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 2,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by EWAYota View Post

Simple pleasures but I find it cool as all heck using two screens.


me too...
Hayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LittleUgly's 94 pickup build LittleUgly 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 11 07-17-2016 10:19 PM
HELP! 89 4Runner 22RE Auto, no injectors! bradahman 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 8 10-01-2015 09:24 AM
Pain recommedations 1985 4Runner 84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 0 09-30-2015 10:17 AM
Justdifferentials / Nitro Gear 99 Land Cruiser 100 Series, SC'd, 4.88, lockers, etc justdifferentials Just Differentials 3 09-29-2015 05:30 PM
Ignition module and coild (1984 22r) PBRaddict#1 Newbie Tech Section 5 09-14-2015 04:18 PM


Tags
4runner, cable, codes, computer, cord, cords, dual, flat, is, kind, laptop, monitor, panel, pc, screen, type

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:09 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.