Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Modification ideas for moderate wheeler

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2008, 09:27 AM
tc
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by nosfanatic2006
Exactly. I'm somewhat new to wheeling. I went a few times with family when I was like 5 or 6 but they had stock Toyota's and I don't remember much about it. I plan on just getting the 4.88 gears, lock the rear, 33" tires, rock sliders, and underbody armor. Then I'll take it out and see how it does and where I need to improve.

Like I said, it could be 5 years or more before I do the SAS. I don't feel like sitting on the sidelines and just driving through dirt roads in the rockies so I would like to keep my truck mostly intact for at least the next 5 years. I think lockers, tires, and a little bit of armor will do me fine for a beginner.

If I keep breaking steering parts out the wazoo then I'll upgrade them. It would be cheaper for me to upgrade them after breaking 5 parts than 50. Yeah they may be cheap $5 parts, but by the time I'm able to do the SAS I will probably have spent the same amount just fixing my truck. So why not spend the money now and not have to worry about it? "Quality over quantity" right?

And besides, I've been thinking of just building this truck to be a desert truck, then buying another 4Runner that already has the front and rear messed up (or gone), and doing the SAS on that one instead.

I'm not looking for anything hardcore yet. I just wanna have fun and get some experience and not have to worry about my truck too much
Great post. Get on the trail FIRST, mods later.

x2 for Axleike's post too - armor makes wheeling SO much more fun because you're not (as) worried about destroying your truck.
Old 01-07-2009, 06:04 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post