Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Big mod day - 5.29's, ARB's, Extended Diff Breathers and the CV mod...

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2004, 08:48 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Big mod day - 5.29's, ARB's, Extended Diff Breathers and the CV mod...

This has been a good while in coming to fruition, but well worth the wait!

First things first - Major major thanks to David (DMG) for giving up his Saturday to make this happen with me. Without his skills (ASE certified master tech), awesome facility, and well outfitted toolbox, this never would have happened as it did. We started into it around 9:30 and wrapped up a little before 5 with a break for lunch (Rocky's giant fish rules!)

For those that haven't been following along, I'll lay it out.

I've been piecing together the parts for this for a few months. I started with getting a front diff from DMG that he had out of a late 80's 4Runner. This is a non-ADD housing meaning that it does not have the actuator on the tube like the later models. Simpler is better!! Less to go wrong.

I then sourced an early 90's 4Runner rear 3rd with ABS sensor from Toyota Parts Dude.

I bought these housings separately so I could have minimal downtime.

Next came getting the parts for the regear and some ARB lockers. Randy's came through with the internet special front and rear gears and master overhaul kit. My dealings with them were troublefree. I got the ARB's from Alex at PORC. He will beat everyone's price AND offers outstanding service.