Odometer Rolling - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   > >


95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Odometer Rolling

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-17-2005, 09:31 PM   #1
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
MorphiasX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 479
Odometer Rolling

Ok, I am installing my new SR5 guage cluster, and need to know how to roll the odometer forward on the new cluster. It is STRICTLY to keep the current showing of my mileage, i am not trying to cheat the DMV, i am aware that it is illigal to modify it, but i need to keep my current odometer reading.

Anyways, how is it done? Help please.
MorphiasX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 09:39 PM   #2
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Tofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Puyallup WA.
Posts: 9,133
is it still illegal to go forward? i would understand backwards, but arnt you only "chating" yourself by going up?
Tofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 09:48 PM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
MorphiasX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 479
Technically it is illigal to tamper with it, period... But yeah it would be cheating yourself to go forward. My truck is at 242k, and the new cluster has 124k... So i need to roll it forward over 100k miles! Haha its not gonna be fun...

Does anybody know how to do it?! I need to know ASAP, the dash is torn apart awaiting the change of mileage...
MorphiasX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 09:50 PM   #4
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Fast Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 10
Did you see the movie "Ferris Beuller's day off"?

I would specifically NOT recomend that method!

Fast Frank
Fast Frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 09:51 PM   #5
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Tofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Puyallup WA.
Posts: 9,133




is it electrical or mechanical? if its mechanical, get a power drill and have at it. is there a way you can take the it apart and roll them to the correct spot with your fingers

Last edited by ToferUOP; 05-17-2005 at 09:53 PM.
Tofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 09:51 PM   #6
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Scofco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Whitehorse, Yukon
Posts: 3,587
Scofco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 09:55 PM   #7
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
MorphiasX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 479
It is mechanical.... do you think the drill idea would really work?
MorphiasX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 10:01 PM   #8
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Tofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Puyallup WA.
Posts: 9,133
i would frist try it slowly by hand to figure out what way it needs to spin, there might be some form of anti-roll-back device built in. and then try to slowly do it with the drill and then step it up as you go.

*edit* just dont get it going at 3000 RPM, you dont want to break anything like the lil plastic teeth that move the next number

*eidt2* i have never done anyhting like that, so if anyone else has an idea please say something. but it seems like it would work in my head. (its just the getting things that work in my head to work in real life thats hard)

Last edited by ToferUOP; 05-17-2005 at 10:03 PM.
Tofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 10:43 PM   #9
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Tacoma Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 8,345
My only question is where/how is the drill going to attach to the odometer?
Tacoma Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 11:11 PM   #10
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Yota4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoma Dude
My only question is where/how is the drill going to attach to the odometer?
My thoughts as well. I think you should try doing it with your fingers.
Yota4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 11:22 PM   #11
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Tofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Puyallup WA.
Posts: 9,133
isnt there a cable or soemthing that turns the numbers?
Tofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 11:41 PM   #12
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
MorphiasX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 479
Yeah right.... i tried it with the drill... and with the thing spinning to where the speedo is saying its going 60mph it goes slllowww... I have about 120k to go... so say i get it going 100mph, it is still going to take forever to do. There HAS to be a better way!
MorphiasX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 01:14 AM   #13
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Ganoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem,Oregon
Posts: 511
got a faster drill?
Ganoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 04:05 AM   #14
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
kdx2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 89
I don't know, but I wonder if a dremel tool would work. The one I have will spin up to about 30,000 rpm I believe. The only problem you may have would be the collet, it may be too small to fit on the end of the speedo cable. Just an idea.
kdx2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 06:50 AM   #15
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
txtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 84
rig up a stand so that you dont need to hold the trigger down. and in the words of ronco and his rotisserie chicken thing "set it and forget it."
txtoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 07:18 AM   #16
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
96LtdYota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al... ROLL TIDE!!!
Posts: 1,551
is there a way to go backwards... im going to sell my car soon...

jk... im serious, im just kidding...
96LtdYota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 07:34 AM   #17
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
93ToyKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: High Point, NC/School at NC State
Posts: 398
How would you do this to an electronic speedo? Should be recieving and installing my SR5 cluster today.
93ToyKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 07:48 AM   #18
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
jwahaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by MorphiasX
Yeah right.... i tried it with the drill... and with the thing spinning to where the speedo is saying its going 60mph it goes slllowww... I have about 120k to go... so say i get it going 100mph, it is still going to take forever to do. There HAS to be a better way!

No, it will only take 50 days at 100MPH.

Personally, I wouldn't worry about it. Just write down your mileage
and let the new gauge start at 0. Any reason you want the new guage
to read 120K?

If your ever questioned about the milage reading just tell them it was
replaced at 120K.
jwahaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 07:58 AM   #19
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Steveh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 738
There are places like speedometer calibration shops that will adjust your odometer - again not sure of the legality if you're going to sell the vehicle. I did read an article years ago on off-road.com about adjusting the odometer. I believe there's a set of C clips that hold the odometer number wheels on a common shaft. This c clip can be removed and the number wheels removed and repositioned to the desired number sequence. If you do this I suggest you make the mileage a little less than you want then use the drill to get it to the exact mileage. That would allow you to make sure it's working properly after being apart.
Steveh29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 08:00 AM   #20
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Steveh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 738
Ha! Found the thread on odometer adjustment.

http://www.barneymc.com/toy_root/techneek/odo_adj.htm
Steveh29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
87 Toyota 5runner (not a typo) 83yotastockR 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 11 11-10-2015 06:54 AM
Justdifferentials / Nitro Gear 99 Land Cruiser 100 Series, SC'd, 4.88, lockers, etc justdifferentials Just Differentials 3 09-29-2015 05:30 PM
94 4Runner with back door open and glass stuck UP PNW94Runner 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 09-29-2015 02:55 PM
ROLLING out an OPTIMIZED SITE w/ 4 New CURRENCIES PureTacoma_Tundra PureTacoma_Tundra 0 09-24-2015 12:14 PM
P0500 and a flame thrower... matt1833 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 0 09-16-2015 07:11 AM


Tags
1995, adjust, adjustment, antonio, back, odemeter, odometer, reading, readings, roll, san, signs, tacoma, tampered, toyota

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:38 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.