Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

noob locker question - what to get?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2013, 10:22 AM

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
noob locker question - what to get?

Hey, ive been wanting to put front & rear lockers in my 95.5 taco for a while now, but I have very little knowledge about them. Currently I have stock F&R diffs, with the ADD in the front.
Ideally, I'd like a selectable locker (i THINK) on both ends. What is your guys' opinion on the matter?
Would it make sense to ALSO do a manual locking hub swap while I'm at it?

questions include: what model is the best?
what type of locker would I want? auto, air, electric? im leaning towards electric.
do lockers decrease durability and lifetime of diffs?
would I have to get a separate skid plate for the locker so I dont rip it off? (i know ive seen these under some rigs, usually painted yellow or blue for some reason)

I wheel not for the sake of wheeling, but to get me up mountains and down backroads so I can build/ride bike trails or hike. i.e. I probably average about 1 km in 100 offroad in the winter, 1km in 20 in the summer, so durability and ability to NOT wear while not engaged is quite important.
Old 01-14-2013, 10:25 AM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Have you researched your options?

:wabbit2:
Old 01-14-2013, 10:36 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Search??? what is that
I say this in jest

95 Tacoma??? Toyota factory rear Locker. find it at a junkyard or Craigslist

The number one easiest locker to swap and make it look factory-- push button to select on or off

Front is different- and pricey== ARB Many companies make rear Elocker guards

Last edited by metalhed; 01-14-2013 at 10:38 AM.
Old 01-14-2013, 11:15 AM

Yea sorry, I have indeed looked around, ive just found the number of combinations of options to be endless and was wondering what you guys, the end users, have found to be the best set up.