Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Which mid 90's 4runner is better....

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2005, 03:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Which mid 90's 4runner is better....

Hi, I'm a newbie (and a female) seriously shopping & researching 4 runners and after reading alot of bad reviews about the '95 4runner(and others?) with it's head gasket problems, I'm hoping you guys (and gals) might have a few educated opinions on which mid 90's year might be better over another right off the bat??
thanks!
Old 08-01-2005, 03:27 PM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by designrtx
Hi, I'm a newbie (and a female) seriously shopping & researching 4 runners and after reading alot of bad reviews about the '95 4runner(and others?) with it's head gasket problems, I'm hoping you guys (and gals) might have a few educated opinions on which mid 90's year might be better over another right off the bat??
thanks!
'96 and up have the 3.4L V-6, which has a much better reputation than the infamous 3.0L (as in the 1995 4Runner). Definitely get a 4runner that is 96 or newer for a more reliable engine (it also gets better mileage and is more powerful).
Old 08-01-2005, 03:29 PM
Contributing Member

if you check to be certain that the headgasket has been replaced (toyota can check with the VIN) that should be no reason to dissuade you from one 2nd gen (90-95) or another.

after looking into a newer 3rd gen, i finally decided to keep my 93 -- i kept hearing people say they wish they'd never sold their 2nd gens.
Old 08-01-2005, 03:38 PM

Received 637 Likes on 513 Posts