Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Fire Extingusher

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2003, 06:47 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Man, I just KNEW there was a reason Halon was banned in Canada! Next, we're gonna ban Mad Cows!
Personally, I carry a 5A - 10 BC Multi.
And yes, I am a trained professional...don't try this stunt at home
Old 12-31-2003, 07:21 PM
Ric
Banned - User requested

shane

he i appreciate the thought, and i agrre with you, the guy that gave it to me, is a pilot, and a cert. mech. he did warn me, NOT to use it in a closed area, he also said the fumes are are deadly, to make sure IF, i needed to use it, use it in an open area,, thankx again for the concern there Shane

waskillywabbit,
in MY opinion, yea an "el cheapo" is ok, the way i see it, something is better than nothing, just make sure it will work on electrical stuff, it will say so on the box, GOD forbid you be on the highway, and a fire breaks out, and you have nothing, nothing to do but watch your pride and joy burn, so thats way i first got the "el cheapo"

Ric
Old 01-01-2004, 12:37 AM

He said not to use Halon in an enclosed area?

Let's think about this - it's used onboard aircraft. I'd say that is a pretty enclosed area.

That's the best place to use Halon. Really, the only place you should use Halon. We used Halon a lot in the Navy - it was extremely effective at extinguishing fires. Engine rooms and paint lockers were equipped with fixed systems. These systems had time delays that allowed everybody to vacate the space prior to Halon release.