engine light code P0120 - YotaTech Forums
YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners
Search


95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

engine light code P0120

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2009, 07:41 PM   #1
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Mb Canada
Posts: 14
engine light code P0120

I have a 99' 4Runner with the 5VZ FE & just recently my check engine light came on but it would come on & off randomly. My buddy used his scanner & came up with this code: "P0120 throttle position sensor A circut". The next day I took it to my local Toyota mechanic & he told me to get some throttle body cleaner & an old toothbrush & clean the carbon deposits inside the throttle body because it may be dirty & it may fix the problem. Has anyone had this problem before & attempted to clean the inside of the throttle body? The reason why I'm asking is because I want to know if the carbon deposits affect the TPS sensor & if cleaning it cures the problem? I want to hear your inputs before I spend $130 for a new TPS sensor from Toyota!
dR. hOOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 08:09 PM   #2
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
mikes19984x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 705
dude, don't ever spend that much for a part like a TPS from Toyota...i had the same code and picked up a new TPS from autozone for $60, and it's fixed all my problems and comes with a nice warranty...save yourself the time of cleaning and just get a new one...trust me
__________________
1998 4Runner SR5 4x4
3.4 w/5-speed & E-Locker
Deckplate & ISR mod w/K&N, 2.5-inch Exhaust w/40-Series Flowmaster
Centerforce Clutch
Bilstien Shocks, 265/75/16 Buckshot Mudders
Sylvania Silverstars, Hella 500s on front bumper (no longer), Orange Gauge Lights, JVC Arsenal Head Unit, Pioneer REV-Series Speakers
More mods to come...
mikes19984x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 11:11 PM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Mb Canada
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikes19984x4 View Post
dude, don't ever spend that much for a part like a TPS from Toyota...i had the same code and picked up a new TPS from autozone for $60, and it's fixed all my problems and comes with a nice warranty...save yourself the time of cleaning and just get a new one...trust me

Thanks for the advice Mike! Well my mechanic told me that he did it to a few other toyota cars & it seemed to work. But he also told me to just try it out first to see if the problem goes away before I start spending money. What is the make of your aftermarket TPS so I can go to my local parts store to see if they carry it because in up here in Canada we don't have an Autozone just NAPA. Because I'm afraid they might tell me that they don't carry it & it's only an OEM part! Do have the part # by any chance?
dR. hOOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 08:39 AM   #4
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
mikes19984x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by dR. hOOK View Post
Thanks for the advice Mike! Well my mechanic told me that he did it to a few other toyota cars & it seemed to work. But he also told me to just try it out first to see if the problem goes away before I start spending money. What is the make of your aftermarket TPS so I can go to my local parts store to see if they carry it because in up here in Canada we don't have an Autozone just NAPA. Because I'm afraid they might tell me that they don't carry it & it's only an OEM part! Do have the part # by any chance?
it was just the Duralast brand from Autozone, part # TPS482 as stated on their website and comes with a two year warranty...and it also looked exactly like the one that i pulled off the truck as far as markings, colors, and numbers/letters...and my bad on the price, as it was really only $49.99

edit: OEM Number: 89452- 35020; 89452- 35100
this was also listed on their website under the Duralast part number...just thought i'd post it
__________________
1998 4Runner SR5 4x4
3.4 w/5-speed & E-Locker
Deckplate & ISR mod w/K&N, 2.5-inch Exhaust w/40-Series Flowmaster
Centerforce Clutch
Bilstien Shocks, 265/75/16 Buckshot Mudders
Sylvania Silverstars, Hella 500s on front bumper (no longer), Orange Gauge Lights, JVC Arsenal Head Unit, Pioneer REV-Series Speakers
More mods to come...

Last edited by mikes19984x4; 04-30-2009 at 08:40 AM.
mikes19984x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 09:38 AM   #5
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Mb Canada
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikes19984x4 View Post
it was just the Duralast brand from Autozone, part # TPS482 as stated on their website and comes with a two year warranty...and it also looked exactly like the one that i pulled off the truck as far as markings, colors, and numbers/letters...and my bad on the price, as it was really only $49.99

edit: OEM Number: 89452- 35020; 89452- 35100
this was also listed on their website under the Duralast part number...just thought i'd post it

Well thanks again Mike that saved me about $80 buying from the dealer!
dR. hOOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 10:22 AM   #6
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
stir_fry_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 389
Let us know how long it lasts....
__________________
2002 T4R 4WD Onyx Black Sport with leather. 197K, Sonoran Steel 1.2 Lift Kit, 6 Spoke FJ Cruiser Powder Coated Satin Black Rims wrapped in 33" Goodyear All-Terrain Adventure Tires, 231 mm Tundra front brakes, TRD Auxiliary Transmission Cooler, JL Audio 500/1 powering a 12W3 JL subwoofer. Infinity Kappa 4 amp powering Infinity Kappa 6.5" speakers in all 4 corners. Sony BTX-B650 deck with iPod tray and 5V pre-outs.

2015 T4R TRD PRO in Super White, all stock.
stir_fry_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 06:33 AM   #7
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
mikes19984x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by dR. hOOK View Post
Well thanks again Mike that saved me about $80 buying from the dealer!
no problem...and it's been right at 6 months now since i've bought it, which isn't that long but still no CELs being thrown, so i think the part is of good quality
__________________
1998 4Runner SR5 4x4
3.4 w/5-speed & E-Locker
Deckplate & ISR mod w/K&N, 2.5-inch Exhaust w/40-Series Flowmaster
Centerforce Clutch
Bilstien Shocks, 265/75/16 Buckshot Mudders
Sylvania Silverstars, Hella 500s on front bumper (no longer), Orange Gauge Lights, JVC Arsenal Head Unit, Pioneer REV-Series Speakers
More mods to come...
mikes19984x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 04:22 PM   #8
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Not wasting your time and just buying the sensor from autozone is the best way to go, but just thought i would throw out there i have had that code as well as having my IAC valve stick closed while driving. I removed my throttle body and cleaned every thing out with throttle body cleaner and have not had a problem since. That was last summer.
Wickster790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 05:39 PM   #9
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Elton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Siletz,Oregon
Posts: 12,261
elton hostler
Send a message via AIM to Elton Send a message via MSN to Elton
mine just came on a few weeks ago it runs the same no problems idle is a little high around 1100 i cleaned the tb guess i just need to replace the sensor ?
__________________
07 Tundra d-cab limited 5.7L 4x4 was my moms r.i.p 3/19/11
98 4runner SR5 3.4L 5spd 4x4 E-Locker sold 10-2-11
91 4runner SR5 4x4 3.0L 5spd Totaled 5/13/06
97 honda civic lx 4dr ls vtec
Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 07:34 AM   #10
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
TheDurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey and Sao Paulo
Posts: 987
Just for fun I checked NAPA--they list two: an Echlin for $53 and a Delphi for about $70. So these are pretty easy to find. I use NAPA because they are two miles way, Autozone is about 15.
__________________
'99 "tall" 4Runner SR5 5sp 4WD 3.4 V6(U.S)--no boards, Hella Fogs, Trekmaster shocks, FIAMM horns, Alpine sound, stock otherwise, owned since new.
'97 HiLux SW4 (Japan model assembled in Argentina, bought in Brazil, very close to a 3.0 4Runner/Surf)
'71 FordWillys Jeep CJ5 (with straight six Ford Maverick 3.0 liter engine--lives in the mountains north of Sao Paulo Brazil)
TheDurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 08:17 PM   #11
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: prince rupert
Posts: 19
tps sensor

hey there jusst replace mine two months ago i used a standard brand made in japan part #091769 522469 I think it cost me about 110 canadian
delio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 12:31 AM   #12
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
98runner210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 797
if ur throttle body is dirty, you should still clean it. It could lead to hesitation. seems a bit foolish to just throw parts at it rather than spend 10 minutes and a $4.00 bottle of cleaner to try and see if ti fixes it. If not, oh well you now have a clean throttle body if it does work then good!
__________________
'98 4Runner Limited White w/ silver flares
98runner210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 06:52 PM   #13
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Elton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Siletz,Oregon
Posts: 12,261
elton hostler
Send a message via AIM to Elton Send a message via MSN to Elton
lol your never gonna guess but i guess my truck knows im poor and poof like magic no more cel been 3days
__________________
07 Tundra d-cab limited 5.7L 4x4 was my moms r.i.p 3/19/11
98 4runner SR5 3.4L 5spd 4x4 E-Locker sold 10-2-11
91 4runner SR5 4x4 3.0L 5spd Totaled 5/13/06
97 honda civic lx 4dr ls vtec
Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 09:23 PM   #14
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
hello, I'm getting a check engine light on and the code of p0120 !! is the tps sensor or throttle switch easy to clean and how hard to remove? I HAVE A 1999 4RUNNER thanks and have a safe holiday
myfunlife2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 02:08 PM   #15
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Market, MD
Posts: 282
Get the Toyota part number. A little time on the internet will cross reference will the OE part number with the Denso part number. Then order the Denso part from Ebay.

I cringe when I hear of Autozone or NAPA parts being installed on a Toyota engine.

.
Potomacduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 05:26 AM   #16
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 335
My 99 kept randomly throwing that code. Eventually we swapped it with the TPS on my wife's 96. The 96 doesn't seem to care the slightest (never throws a code), and the 96's TPS works perfectly on the 99.
Jomoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 05:45 PM   #17
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 57
I just had the P0120 code and bought a TPS at Autozone. Cleared the code and it has not returned after a few hundred miles, so that was probably it.


It's not the most sophisticated part. An Autozone TPS seems about as risky as Delco wiper blades. JMO.


p.s. Thanks folks for the diagnostic help.

Last edited by TX78666; 02-07-2014 at 05:50 PM.
TX78666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 12:58 PM   #18
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
ahmad1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 6
Error Code: P0120 (Throttle/Pedal Position Sensor/Switch ”A” Circuit)
Check the following:
- ECTS Fuse.
- Wiring harness.
- Throttle control motor and sensor
- ECM
ahmad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 02:56 PM   #19
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Tps p0120

Quote:
Originally Posted by TX78666 View Post
I just had the P0120 code and bought a TPS at Autozone. Cleared the code and it has not returned after a few hundred miles, so that was probably it.


It's not the most sophisticated part. An Autozone TPS seems about as risky as Delco wiper blades. JMO.


p.s. Thanks folks for the diagnostic help.
My dad's truck is a 96 and he recently passed after he passed I got his truck and started having brake downs left and right. The check engine light came on and went to O'Reilly's the the code came up as p0120 closed throttle positioning sensor well I bought a new part and installed it and still the check engine light is still on I was told to drive it and wait to see if it would go off and it hasn't...the next night I took back to O'Reilly's and still the same code came up...people have told me oh its a toyota get rid of it...of with it beings my dad's there's no way in hell I would ever get rid of it!!! Anymore suggestions on what to do???
Camo.country.girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 01:27 AM   #20
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
wyoming9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: I live in New Tripoli Pa out in the woods
Posts: 8,657
Red face

First Welcome to Yota Tech !!

The people who told you to just get rid of the truck most likely wanted it themselves.

We will get this figured out.

One must remember when you get any code it is not just the sensor in question.

Was the old TPS even tested or just replaced??

Some real poor quality parts out there these days failed out of the box??

In your case it just be a corroded connection.

Are you able to do some mechanical work yourself or at the mercy of paying someone.

Be nice to know where you are help could be close at hand

Things to know mileage and drivetrain??
wyoming9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1998, 4runner, 5vzfe, check, closed, code, codes, engine, light, p0120, po120, position, switch, throttle, toyota

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:47 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.