Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Electric fan for my 2nd gen

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2004, 04:56 PM
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
BTW, I welcome any and all critiques of my analysis, I am by no means an automotive expert. However, this is an interesting subject and I think I'll post it on an automotive engineering forum and see what everybody there thinks about electrice Vs mechanical. I'll get back to you guys.
Old 06-01-2004, 04:58 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Steve, don't forget to mention that the fan pulley extension has a significant weight (maybe 1lb?) and rotates under all conditions. By going electric, this piece is eliminated. Interesting stuff BTW.
Old 06-01-2004, 09:07 PM
Contributing Member

Well, I didn't include that because the rotating mass doesn't really waste energy, it stores it like a fly wheel. The engine uses energy to spin up the pulley but then that kinetic energy is transfered back into the engine when you let off the gas pedal.

There are really 2 discussion here, one is efficiency (mileage) and the other is perceived "power" gains. Spinning up the rotating mass falls under the perceived power gains category.

Hmm...on second thought, perhaps that energy IS wasted when the spinning pulley transfers energy to the crankshaft, then to the pistons and then to the air via compression braking (because the gas pedal isn't being pushed), then out the tail pipe in the form of hotter air. Boy, this is fun...much better than working for a semiconductor company, hehe.
Old 06-02-2004, 06:55 AM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by Robinhood150
much better than working for a semiconductor company, hehe.
Hey watch it!

You too?
Old 06-02-2004, 07:45 AM

Simple Moorhead here: Simple Moorhead theory to follow

The mechanical fan gets its power from the Crankshaft as does the powersteering pump, the a/c, the H2O pump.