Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

4" Deckplate vs. 6" Deckplate

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2005, 02:45 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
you need 10rwhp or more to notice a difference from what I have heard.

I am no mechanic so if I'm offbase someone please correct me.

As I understand it, the ECU uses the MAF to gauge the air volume and more importantly it's density. From there it looks at the throttle position and determines the injector duty cycle. If the throttle position is above 80%, the ECU jumps into open circuit (I think) and the engine runs PIG rich.

When the throttle position is below 80% the O2 sensor is doing cross sweeps. That is that the O2 sensor is reading rich then lean then rich then lean. The more you get into the throttle, the faster and faster it does this. It does this to help improve econcomy, by keeping the burn closer to stoichiometric.

If the O2 sensors die, the ECU has no way of telling if the engine is running lean and automatically goes to a predetermined fuel map garunteed not to be lean even at WOT. This results in poor milage, slight loss of power, and running that rich will eventually kill your cat....

So after doing the deckplate, or any other performance mods, most people get into the gas that much more to see if it made a difference. If you did that and went over 80% throttle position a lot, you could have killed the cat from an overrich condition. Hence why I said check the O2 sensors for proper operation. The ECU wont necissarily trip a CEL light if the O2 sensors die, so definately check them out...
Old 02-08-2005, 07:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
so how do I check the o2 sensor out ??
Old 02-10-2005, 04:46 PM

I to did a deckplate w/ no noticeable difference other than sound. My question though what is the difference between the hole in the air box vs flipping open the lid of the V6 or moving the lid aside on the 4 cyl
Old 05-23-2005, 06:19 PM