86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

khat toy's 1986/1988 4Runner Build-Up Thread

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2010, 04:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
khat toy's 1986/1988 4Runner Build-Up Thread

Alright.... I got this '88 out of the junkyard last year with a blown motor and a questionable tranny. I had been buying parts off of it for a while for the '86 rig I had been running for about ten years, that was slowly rusting into nothing (fred flinstone style floors...) So I went down to the junkyard one day (they all kno me by name there) and the owner told me to take what I wanted 'cus he was gonna crush it, so we dickered and I got the whole thing, delivered to my door, for $500. I had just had the top half of the engine in the '86 rebuilt after the timing chain guides broke, the timing chain ate thru the water pump housing, blew the head gasket and cracked the head (right at 168,xxx, big surprise).... so with a little help the engine and tranny from the '86 now reside in the '88... along with the 31" tires it had when I bought it 10 years ago. My biggest regret is the loss of my bullhorns and winch - the winch was used as payment for the help I got and the bullhorns were rusted beyond use.... but I suppose there's always a trade-off. The new rig's wiring is all stock (unlike the '86, which had a bunch of amateurs install and remove various electrical devices...), still has the side steps, the rear window works, there's a sunroof, and I recently finished installing a bumpin' stereo system. But, it does have a few problems. It was in an accident, so the front end suspension/bearing/idler arm have some issues. I've been driving it that way since I got it (out to Greene Co, PA and back, even), but the vibration is getting really bad at lower and lower speeds. So I'm using a good chunk of my student loan refunds to purchase parts and get greasy. This weekend I was planning to start on the rear end suspension (I've had leaf springs k