86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

87 Deathtraps' '87 4runner Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2011, 04:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Nate, I like the leaf springs. Have you started cutting off the old yet?

- Travis
Old 08-06-2011, 08:07 PM

Hey its about time Travis! Yeah man, got one side done today. I'll post pics tomorrow, when I get the other side done.
Old 08-07-2011, 06:59 PM

I got the F150 springs installed on the 4runner this weekend. I was surprised at how easy it was. Being a total fab newbie I was expecting a lot more headaches, but I'd say it turned out well.

Started by tacking on the new hangers 11" forward of the old ones.

Then I pulled the rear springs and replaced them with the F150 springs using the same shackle location. Apparently 11" is the key, as it put the center line of the axle right where it had been.

I had to get a comparison shot of the two springs side by side and these things are long! Seems like 63's would just be too long.

I was hoping to get away with not moving the shackle hanger, but no such luck. This is the current shackle angle with full weight on the springs. I think I'll hold out and pick up some johnny/creeper joints rather than try to move the factory hanger.

Here it is at ride height. Swapping the springs and losing the blocks lowered the frame height 3 1/4 ", from 29" to 25 3/4" and these spring are much softer!

As an added bonus, I got to lose those ridiculous u-bolts and mount the axle the right way.
Old 08-08-2011, 02:57 PM

I woke up motivated this morning so I continued demolition on Dicey. Got the front axle and suspension pulled. I'm hoping to start cleaning up the frame and rebuilding the axle within the next couple of days. My next goal though is to build the front leaf pack from the rear leafs on my '88 parts truck and my new to me stock '85 rear leafs (thanks Travis).

This axle will look much better with a high pinion .
Old 08-09-2011, 03:30 PM