General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

Stupid Questoin for Manual owners

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2006, 09:15 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by aviator
I don't know of anyway to open it up that would be safe considering it's full of fuel and residue and so forth...

well when i cut mine open i didnt use a torch or plasma cutters or anything!

i was actually timid to use my dremel to cut it, due to heat, so i just used a hacksaw in a vise, and went at it. no worries, i survived!
Old 09-30-2006, 10:59 PM

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Getting back to the begining. I know exactly the little nothing vibe you get. I've had 3 22re in 2 85's and 1 87 and being a self taught novice mech I try and investigate everything I hear and feel odd. The toy know it all Jim at Protrux of san marcos said it's just normal and could make it alittle better by pluging some vacum line back under the hood on the passenger side. Just told me to re-connect it when smog time comes.

But I know what your talking about and to even bring it up makes it sound like theres more to it. It's hard to describe how slight, almost like your not sure your feeling anything. Every mech I've talked to just give me a little know it all grin and says don't worry about it it's just idling. Never had a problem with any of them.
Old 10-01-2006, 09:25 PM
Contributing Member

huh ??
Old 10-02-2006, 12:19 AM

Mind you this information is 18 years old from when I was in tech school in 88-89 for auto diagnostics. So it has some cobwebs on it....