General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

Damsel in distress. Engine swap? Faulty workmanship?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2006, 02:24 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Damsel in distress. Engine swap? Faulty workmanship?

hey there gang... I just got word that my Sunday driver ('95 V-6 3.o) has a thrown rod and bearings. I had it in to an oil change place (yeah, I know... but I'm an ole paramedic with a bad back, and it beats laying under the vehicle in these cold Michigan winters) and the filter wasn't seated properly. They tell me that something inherently wrong in the engine caused the filter failure, (which shows an obviously faulty seal) while I maintain that the filter gave way. Is there any way for me to definitively test and prove that my engine was NOT at fault? Certainly I can't check compression... or my oil sending unit, etc.. and obviously they know that.
I'm reasonably mechanically inclined, but not to the point of doing an engine swap. And certainly not the 3.4 conversion that I've seen on here. The real kicker is that I owe $6000 on the car loan, for a vehicle that needs an estimated $5000 in repairs.
Do I sue? Do I solicit help and wrench on it myself? Anybody looking to purchase? Any legal advice? As a single mom, I simply don't have the resources. Any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated.
I've spoken with a lawyer (once), gotten 3 different estimates from 2 different mechanics, taken many pictures, documented everything in writing, and they have officially tested the filter. I'm not big on the sandwich board approach, they aren't readily forthcoming with additional names, but I can write a letter to the editor...
Please help!

Last edited by Toyo-Mama; 03-15-2006 at 02:27 AM.
Old 03-15-2006, 03:28 AM
Contributing Member

Received 465 Likes on 311 Posts