86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Torsion Bar adjustment with AAL

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2007, 07:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Torsion Bar adjustment with AAL

I am planning on putting AAL's in the back of my 93 3.0 and it should give her somewhere from an 1" - 2" in the back. Do I need to adjust the torsion bars for these AAL's and will it lift up the front if I do? and also Im pretty new at this and don't really know how to adjust the torsion bars.
Old 08-13-2007, 09:04 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If you have the stock saggy springs, where your rear is riding lower than your front, I would say wait until you see the lift and go from there.

Right now on my truck I have a heavy duty spring pack (OME springs) which is equivilent to an add a leaf if you had good stock springs still, but it isn't designed to give lift butride at stock level and I have the front torsion bars cranked down for ride comfort, and the rear end rides slightly higher than the front, so the truck looks "poised" and ready for a load if that makes any sense. It looks better this way in my opinion. I wouldn't say the rear spring packs have lifted the truck, just made it level, like it probably was when the stock springs were new. Put 500 pounds in the bed and the truck rides beautifully.