86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

sas or buy one that has a solid axle?

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2008, 08:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
sas or buy one that has a solid axle?

i live in ohio so unless i drive 6-8 hours there are no rock trails for me. just some sticky mud. so my need are big nobby tires and lots of wheel speed. i want to do a sas, but is it really worth it just to play in the mud? my other question is. i have limited mechanical experience so would i be better off buying an older yota with a solid axle or doing the swap on my 86pu with the 22r?
Old 01-18-2008, 09:23 AM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Do the SAS.

It will take you almost as much work to make a SA truck work with the big knobby tires as to do the SAS. You have to redo the steering, and beef up a ton of stuff.
Old 01-18-2008, 10:37 AM

I think that you would be better off to find an older SA truck if you don't feel mechanically inclined to convert yours
Old 01-18-2008, 11:27 AM

for your needs, you don't need one. you WILL know when a SAS is necessary, if you're just thinking about maybe doing it, you don't need one.
Old 01-18-2008, 11:30 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
for your needs, you don't need one. you WILL know when a SAS is necessary, if you're just thinking about maybe doing it, you don't need one.
He's right, you're just one of the many that "think" they need a SA.
Old 01-18-2008, 11:41 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Mud =

Ide say if you want the solid axle to do the SAS because its true if you want a great suspension even on the older trucks youll want to beef up alot and it would be about just as much work.

Also the wheel power you speek of is non existant in the 22re. yes its pretty comperable to the 3.0 but i mean either motor will hold you back if what your looking for is power while in mud. Upside is its light