Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Bought a 92 'Yota pickup to replace my 4runner, but having probs...

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2009, 08:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bought a 92 'Yota pickup to replace my 4runner, but having probs...

First off, I'm new to the board. My name is Nick, and I'm a college student in Oklahoma

I had a '90 4runner that I bought off of craigslist three years ago for $150 and a tv...it's debatable who got the better end of the deal it was rusty, ugly, had a weak motor (but an amazingly reliable and seemingly bulletproof weak motor, as strange as that sounds), and I didn't do anything over the three years to make it any prettier...I'll post up pics and vids some time soon, but long story short the ol' 22re threw a rod through the block a few weeks ago.

I bought a '92 shortwide Toyota with 22re on Friday to replace it. It has a freshly rebuilt shortblock, however the previous owner installed the motor and didn't know enough to get it running. I fixed the timing (he had it set past 0 when it should have been 13 degrees on the opposite side...), replaced MAF with working sensor from my 4runner, drained the old gas that had some water in it, replaced fuel filter, changed plugs, etc.

I had it at least idling consistently before even changing out the gas/fuel filter, but it's still running weak. I did a compression test on all 4 cylinders yesterday and they ranged from 125-150psi, so I'm not worried about valves/rings/cylinder damage/etc. I did notice when doing the compression test that all cylinders were running rich, with the first and last (front/rear, I don't know firing order offhand) cylinders getting so much fuel that they'd already fouled the new plugs!