Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

3VZE helpful mods

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2009, 08:32 AM
Contributing Member

Received 34 Likes on 14 Posts
As much as I hate to admit it, you'd probably be better off in the long run doing the 3.4 swap. I've have several hundred hours in a '94 3vze and I'm almost to the point of swapping out to something else. The perfect swap would be the old 1961 Buick 215 ci aluminum alloy V-8, which they sold to Rover & is still being used in Europe as their 3.5 liter V-8. Alas, they are rare as hens teeth in good condition.
Old 04-06-2009, 07:59 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Rexd699
Howdy...I am NEW to this GREAT SITE...Thanks to everyone for sharing your time learned knowledge and advise...!!!

I have a 1991 4Runner 3.0 3VZE with 280,000 miles which is getting tired...!!!
After Pulling the Heads Off & looking things over I am thinking of doing the Over-Size Valves, Performance Cams, and clean up the exhaust for better flow.

Can an yone point me in the right direction as far a Aftermarket Parts are concerned: What Cam(s) to get...???
Good source for Over-Sized Valve Heads...???
The Cams & Heads are my main concern at this time...!!!

I'm in Reno with access to some great desert and High Sierra Mountians back roads.
I'm mostly interested in Strong = Low to Mid Range Power.
I'm NOT into High-Speed Top-End Power.
Please Advise~~~>>>Many Thanks...!!!
Rex M.
member Weasy2k is about your best and just about only source for cams for the 3.0... there is an excellent thread here about them
https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f57/...le-1-a-107788/
his customer service is excellent and the member feedback thus far has rated them A+ or better...
Old 04-06-2009, 09:55 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by Rexd699

I'm in Reno with access to some great desert and High Sierra Mountians back roads.
Rex M.