Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

loose timeing chain?

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2008, 03:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
loose timeing chain?

So i've read various posts about the timeing chain on the 22r. From what I gather, it is not unusuall for the chains to become loose around 130000, which is ~where im at. I also understand that it takes a fair amount of time to change the chain, but is a relatively simple job, except for that hidden guide that can easily be broken. Now what I don't understand is --

is there any easy way to check if the chain is off one of it's guides, or needs to be replaced? or do i have to take off all the crap in the front?

thanks
Old 12-11-2008, 03:53 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You can take off the valve cover and take a peak that way. If your over 100k I would do it anyway. Preventative maintenance.
Old 12-11-2008, 04:35 PM

Thanks Stagger Lee,

Problem is im a total rookie mechanic, but im not intimidated, all i need is time, and possibly a garage. If I take it to a shop what would they charge? $400+ ???

Also if i let it go in procastinated neglect - how much damage (typically) am i looking at inflicting on the engine?

thanks
Old 12-11-2008, 06:03 PM

If you avoid fixing this, eventually the chain will build enough slack to slip a tooth. When it does this the valves int he head no longer go up and down inside of the head and can cause them to hit a piston. When that piston hits the valve it can bend the valve, bust the head, or puncture the piston itself. Either way you will have to do a rebuild of the head, the engine or possibly both.