YotaTech Forums

YotaTech Forums (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/)
-   86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116/)
-   -   Repainting/Repairing 4runner Fiberglass Topper (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116/repainting-repairing-4runner-fiberglass-topper-305539/)

mbomberz1 08-30-2018 12:20 PM

Repainting/Repairing 4runner Fiberglass Topper

Hey guys,

I wanted to ask for some advice on the best way to repair a sun damaged/faded 4Runner fiberglass top. I have never worked with fiberglass before and I am not sure what the proper steps would be to get it properly repaired and painted. Based on the texture of the top, I believe that the 'gel' coat that was on there from the factory has mostly been stripped off by the sun. If I plan on colormatching the top and having it painted in the end, is it necessary to reapply a gel coat the fiberglas before priming and painting, or would a good primer and paint be just as protective to the fiberglass?

Thanks!

Nervo19 08-30-2018 01:34 PM

Congrats on your new 4Runner. How bad is the top? Is there cracking and crazing? If so I would get a kit of epoxy from a boat supply store and skim coat the whole thing. At that point it might be cheaper to find a better used top. The stuff they sell for auto work is polyester and has bad fumes and is not as easy to work with IMO. It's cheaper though. Other wise for small damage you can probably use a little body filler keeping in mind that it should be kept under a dime in thickness. You can even cut up some fiberglass cloth or mat into threads to add to the filler if the repair needs to be thicker. To paint my top I intend to "roll and tip" satin finish Rustoleum. I've never painted the top since it's been off for two years. Look at videos on YouTube for rolling and tipping technique. I did it on a boat and it looks sprayed. If you need to restore the texture you can use bed liner and then either go with it or paint over top of it.

mbomberz1 08-30-2018 01:39 PM