Adding a 220V outlet? - YotaTech Forums

Notices
Off Topic Talk If it's non Toyota & tech related, put it here

Adding a 220V outlet?

Reply

Old 01-07-2009, 10:27 AM
  #1  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,338
Thanked 116 Times in 55 Posts
Adding a 220V outlet?

Alright well were getting tired of not having a drier, So I need to wire up an outlet.

So I need an outlet, and what gauge wire should I use? <--anything else I need?
I learned about electricity and such in a shop class for 3 months back in HS, So dont give me crap about how its dangerous and such.

Just looking for advice and tips guys..
Thanks


scuba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:31 AM
  #2  
Sponsor
 
Tofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Puyallup WA.
Posts: 9,167
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
pay for an electrician to do it.... dont mess with 220.
Tofer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:38 AM
  #3  
Banned
iTrader: (-1)
 
waskillywabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 3 Posts
Many states require licensed electricians certify and/or do such work.

If you have to ask if you need a SAS, I mean what gauge wire, you don't need to do it. Not even if you took shop in high school or stayed in a Holiday Inn last night.

waskillywabbit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:44 AM
  #4  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,338
Thanked 116 Times in 55 Posts




scuba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 11:09 AM
  #5  
Registered User
 
Windsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: DFW, Texas!
Posts: 1,015
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IIRC, dryers only need 30A, so that would be 10-ga.

Nowadays it is wise to wire 4-prong outlets, so you want "10-3 w/ ground" wire.

Pay very close attention to which prong is "neutral" and which prong is ground. Google, borrow/buy a book, etc.

Other than that, don't fry yourself, don't burn the building down.

Last edited by Windsor; 01-07-2009 at 11:10 AM.
Windsor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:01 PM
  #6  
Registered User
 
a4runnerfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Grew up in S.C.V, So Cal.....now in Hampstead, NC
Posts: 4,592
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
[YOUTUBE]st1lH8zcIuQ[/YOUTUBE]
a4runnerfreak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:17 PM
  #7  
Registered User
 
22mr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: new baltimore ny
Posts: 184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
find a spot in your box for a 30 amp double breaker, 10 guage 4 wire cable(red,black,white and bare) follow the wiring directions to your dryer outlet to wire your plug and hook up to your breaker box. Wiring a house book by a guy named rex cauldwell? at lowes or home depot for 15 bucks if your still not sure.
22mr2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:10 PM
  #8  
Registered User
 
girl_face's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Posts: 1,358
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sorry scuba...just saw this and thought it was appropriate.



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIMGPiN1B1E
girl_face is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:23 PM
  #9  
Registered User
 
okie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nor, CAL
Posts: 1,816
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Check this out, it helped me:

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...220outlet.html

If that doesn't work, there's always a clothesline
okie81 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:50 PM
  #10  
tc
Contributing Member
 
tc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 8,875
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Tofer View Post
pay for an electrician to do it.... dont mess with 220.
x2 - 220V is the most dangerous voltage out there. Higher voltage (like 480V) will just explode and blow you clear of the danger. 220V will just hold you there and cook you.

I assume you will need to land breakers in the box and everything? If so, be sure to disconnect the main breaker so the panel is totally dead. It's real easy for that uninsulated groud wire to come in contact with the hot bus and make a helluva arc.
tc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 03:00 PM
  #11  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,338
Thanked 116 Times in 55 Posts
Well my mom is still deciding if she wants to let me or not...
Im confident in myself, thanks for the advice guys


scuba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 03:07 PM
  #12  
Banned
iTrader: (-1)
 
waskillywabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by tc View Post
x2 - 220V is the most dangerous voltage out there. Higher voltage (like 480V) will just explode and blow you clear of the danger. 220V will just hold you there and cook you.

I assume you will need to land breakers in the box and everything? If so, be sure to disconnect the main breaker so the panel is totally dead. It's real easy for that uninsulated groud wire to come in contact with the hot bus and make a helluva arc.
X100

waskillywabbit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:22 PM
  #13  
Registered User
 
fustercluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: right here.
Posts: 7,263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just remember, DYI home electrical work is known to cause catastrophic changes in one's appearance...




































fustercluck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:48 PM
  #14  
Registered User
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 6,002
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
u'd have to do another home run, which can be a PITA if the box is located where mine is. my neighbors, his is in his garage, so when i ran a 220 line from it to his laundry room, it wasnt as bad as it could have been. with mine, id have to break off all the stucco in order to do it. luckily our house already had one . i should add another one for a welder, but parents dont want a welder here . be CAREFUL, 220 IS dangerous. if ur not sure at all, call an electrician. i dont want you hurtin urself. knowing how electricity runs is one thing, but having EXPERIENCE??? that is what matters. i KNOW how to rebuild an engine, i KNOW how to rebuild a transmission, but ive never done it, get my point?
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:50 PM
  #15  
Contributing Member
 
BajaRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: 5th Gen San Diegan, California
Posts: 7,122
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
That guy has pubes on his head!!!
BajaRunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:50 PM
  #16  
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
space-junk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wilton, CA
Posts: 5,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
scoobie... please dont do this... even if you are confident... my dad, when he built our house, did all the wiring except for the 220V stuff and some of the downstairs sockets...

stay away from 220V!!
space-junk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:54 PM
  #17  
Registered User
 
86Toyrunna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: B-TOWN, ORYGUN
Posts: 426
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
not hard.. just added an outlet in my shop for the welder.. just make sure the box is dead before you open it up.. my friend is a electrican and he keeped tellin me "never reach into a live box" and make sure you get the correct style breaker for your box.. several differnt latching styles. i have always heard that 110v can kill you faster then 220v..but either way i think ill stay away from that kind of shock treatment
86Toyrunna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:00 PM
  #18  
Registered User
 
fustercluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: right here.
Posts: 7,263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Seriously now. Get a tick tracer to make sure your box is dead. They don't call electricians 'sparkies' for nothin'

fustercluck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:03 PM
  #19  
Registered User
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 6,002
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeah 110 will kill u faster than 220 cuz with 220 it wil lhold you, but you can still be knocked away from it. with 110 it will hold u and the person who tries grabbin u away, cuz its so low it wont throw you.
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:11 PM
  #20  
tc
Contributing Member
 
tc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 8,875
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 86Toyrunna View Post
i have always heard that 110v can kill you faster then 220v..but either way i think ill stay away from that kind of shock treatment
Originally Posted by ozziesironmanoffroad View Post
yeah 110 will kill u faster than 220 cuz with 220 it wil lhold you, but you can still be knocked away from it. with 110 it will hold u and the person who tries grabbin u away, cuz its so low it wont throw you.
Absolutely untrue. 220V is WAY worse. Think about it - most 220V circuits are 30A or 50A (6600W or 11000W)... 110 is "only" 20A AT MOST (2200W). Either of these is obviously more than enough to kill, especially if the path goes across your body and through your heart (say coming in right hand and going out left foot)
tc is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Adding a 220V outlet?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: