Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Noob ZUK mod on '96 Taco

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2011, 05:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Noob ZUK mod on '96 Taco

Hello all, this will be my first post on YotaTech.
First...Just to be clear, this particular ZUK mod is where you beef up your rear suspension in order to haul more gear, or in my case, help rear leafs that are way past due for replacement. It involves adding a coil spring either over the upper and lower bumper stops, or doing away with the stock stops and making your own bracket in order to keep the springs in place.
I am a college student and have been dreading replacing my sagging rear leafs on my 96 Tacoma Xtra cab. The leafs on it were not broken, but were straightened out pretty bad to the point where I thought they were going to invert. $250 bucks was about the cheapest I found for a new OEM leaf pack(lame). That and what would be a hellacious afternoon swapping them out for a light tinkerer like me. I had been reading about the ZUK mod that I guess became popular due to the dreaded 4-runner sag. It sparked my curiosity to find out that this could also be done on the tacoma. I figured that for $50 bucks, I could see if it could fix my problem. My only hesitation was that there was not a lot of info. on the ins and outs of this mod for the average guy. I don't have a whole machine and welding shop at my house and am restricted heavily by money. I needed to know exactly how much I was going to have to spend and exactly what needed to be altered so I didn't have to go to the local garage 100 times. This is the main reason I chose to do a write up on this. I will do my best to answer ANY questions that people have about this mod...that is if anybody has any, heck, maybe this procedure is so vanilla that no one has any questions. I do not off road often and therefore chose this configuration for highway driving with a little "fun" in the mud and grave