Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

I'm not a mechanic...but this yota will live

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2005, 08:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation I'm not a mechanic...but this yota will live

For those who've been helping me Thanks. are on me. Short story, I bought a used 91 Yota v6 4x4 3vze, after basic upkeep I found cyclinder #6 to be dead (30psi on a compression test). Well a valve job/top end rebuild is in store.

I'm no mechanic but i've decided to pull her into the garage and pull the heads off myself. Carry them in for the valve job. My question is: What advise does anyone have for this. What else should I look at doing since I'll be this deep into the dismantle and repair. Anyone live close by and want to help?

I can justify the valve job expense if I carry the heads in. The stealership quoted me more for the repair than I bought the truck for. I wanted a project and this is my head first jump before looking attempt and introduction into it.

I swear that I will not let this Yota die in my garage. I will be starting on Sunday or Monday 2/6-7 (depending on work and how quickly I can clear up some needed space. I expect it to take 2 - 2.5 weeks from start to finish. Wish me luck and please post any advice, links, photos of your time doing so. I'm getting my digi back from my buddy so everyone can see my struggles. If nothing else I can provide a laugh for some of you here.

after or during (need to check checking book) I will be adding a 2" BL and downey headers and a new HP exhaust. I have some buddy's who will try and help however both are expecting kids any day, time is limited.

-=Morphine=-
Old 02-01-2005, 08:38 AM
Contributing Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
The first thing I'd do is ask these guys about going to a little over-sized valves. http://www.engnbldr.com/ .

This is the best thread I've seen about the 3.0 engine. http://www.4x4wire.com/forums/showfl...fpart=all&vc=1