Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Help! My drive shaft is coming apart!

Old 02-06-2012, 09:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help! My drive shaft is coming apart!

So, I've been having this terrible vibration in my truck and I crawled under to check it out. I noticed that the drive shaft, going to the back wheels, is very loose in what looks like the U Joint. I guess my question is what do I need to do to fix it? Do I need a whole new U Joint or can I tighten this one up somehow? It looks like there is a circlip and a cover over where it connects. If someone could help me out it would be much appreciated. Thanks guys!!!!!

Old 02-06-2012, 09:16 AM

Received 101 Likes on 79 Posts
just get a new U-joint...
Old 02-06-2012, 09:18 AM

Thanks, I've never done one before. Can I just pop out the circlips and it will all come apart?

As you can tell I haven;t done a ton of work on this truck.
Old 02-06-2012, 09:19 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
go to a driveshaft shop and they'll put a new U joint in in about 30 minutes. Or you can search how to do it an spend 4 hours beating on it with a hammer and cussing it like i did. how do you have 1200 posts and not know what a U joint is or the basic concept of changing one? O_o
Old 02-06-2012, 09:21 AM

Originally Posted by sebastianholmes
go to a driveshaft shop and they'll put a new U joint in in about 30 minutes. Or you can search how to do it an spend 4 hours beating on it with a hammer and cussing it like i did. how do you have 1200 posts and not know what a U joint is or the basic concept of changing one? O_o
Uhh yeah, thanks.
Old 02-06-2012, 09:25 AM